Moving Electrical Outlet Using Aluminum Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 12:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

moving electrical outlet using aluminum wiring


I am paneling a 30 yr old log cabin with pine planks. All the outlets in the cabin are set into the first course of logs so they are only 2 - 3 inches above the floor. If i leave them where they are, they will be covered with 1/2 inch plywood, 3/4 pine panel, and 3/4 baseboard (2 inch recess). I want to move them up about 18 inches and will have to splice. Also, all house wiring is aluminum. My question is, can I use the existing outlet boxes as a junction box if I put a blank cover on them and can I then cover them with pine paneling?

Advertisement

sjenkinz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 12:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

moving electrical outlet using aluminum wiring


You can't cover a junction box
It must always be accessible thru the blank cover

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
sjenkinz (12-05-2010)
Old 12-05-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
Oldguy
 
Rehabber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calif (the left coast)
Posts: 498
Rewards Points: 250
Default

moving electrical outlet using aluminum wiring


Maybe this would be a good time to rewire and get rid of that aluminum wiring
__________________
If you think you can, or if you think you can't, you're probably right.

ASE certified master auto tech, Retired.
Rehabber is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rehabber For This Useful Post:
sjenkinz (12-05-2010)
Old 12-05-2010, 03:32 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,349
Rewards Points: 3,492
Blog Entries: 4
Default

moving electrical outlet using aluminum wiring


If you leave them where they are you need to add box extenders so no wood is exposed inside the box. You can cover them with a blank cover. You can not cover them with panelling. They must remain accessible.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with adding electrical outlet bowanna03 Electrical 5 05-23-2010 08:00 PM
Securing Electrical Outlet in Unfinished Room - Cement smohamed9 Electrical 2 04-04-2010 09:53 AM
I have a house with aluminum wiring should I pigtail every outlet guyblue Electrical 19 01-28-2009 08:07 PM
OK to put electrical outlet into storage area under stairs? melanie_s Electrical 1 12-29-2007 05:09 PM
moving an electrical outlet bobo Electrical 4 05-21-2005 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts