Moving A 220v Outlet To A Different Room? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2009, 02:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving a 220v outlet to a different room?


I currently have a 220v outlet in the closet of a bedroom and want to move it to a different room the outlets will be about the same distance from the box, and I am wondering if I can just disconnect the outlet run it back under the house and up to the new location? I don't want to mess with the electrical box if I don't have to.

Thanks for any help
-Sean

Advertisement

seanfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 02:26 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Moving a 220v outlet to a different room?


Quote:
Originally Posted by seanfool View Post
I currently have a 220v outlet in the closet of a bedroom and want to move it to a different room the outlets will be about the same distance from the box, and I am wondering if I can just disconnect the outlet run it back under the house and up to the new location? I don't want to mess with the electrical box if I don't have to.

Thanks for any help
-Sean
If its long enough no problem . Why 220 in a closet? MAKE SURE YOU TURN OFF POWER WHEN YOU DO THIS!!!!!

Advertisement

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 04:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Moving a 220v outlet to a different room?


Quote:
I am wondering if I can just disconnect the outlet run it back under the house and up to the new location?
Yes but staples in the wall may be an issue.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 05:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Moving a 220v outlet to a different room?


Yeah the staples are usually the problem
Is it #12g 20a 240v outlet....10g 30a 240v ?
If you can't get the staples out you might be able to just extend the circuit to the new location
Is this for an AC ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 06:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Moving a 220v outlet to a different room?


sounds like an old washer dryer closet
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
washer/dryer frying my outlet dontwannadiy Electrical 15 07-28-2009 12:52 AM
Cold Room mikelbeck HVAC 14 01-16-2009 09:21 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 09:42 AM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 04:59 PM
moving an electrical outlet bobo Electrical 4 05-21-2005 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts