Move Plug In Bathroom Remodel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 03:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,156
Rewards Points: 650
Default

Move plug in bathroom remodel


Need to move a plug in a bathroom redo. Unfortunately the move is about 6 feet from where it was and will require longer wire(s). The junction boxes for where these wires will be spliced must be in the attic due to the shortness of the original wires.

I know these connections must be secured in a junction box mounted to a ceiling joist, correct? And I also assume that they must be in there own boxes? Any specific way to join them other than wire caps? Plastic or metal boxes with cover, does it matter?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

Advertisement

__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:33 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,388
Rewards Points: 3,570
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Move plug in bathroom remodel


Quote:
And I also assume that they must be in there own boxes?
Not sure what this means.
All splices must be in junction boxes that are accessible. That means you need to be able to get to them without ripping out walls or ceilings. In the attic fastened to a joist is fine. Choice of box style is up to you as long as it is large enough for all the wires.
Wire nuts connecting the old to the new is proper. If the box is metal then fasten the ground to the box as well.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,156
Rewards Points: 650
Default

Move plug in bathroom remodel


There are 2 wires that will need extending, I assume one is the power in and the other is a leg out to another outlet.

That is what I poorly described there. So will each wire require its own box? These will ultimately be covered with insulation.
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 04:48 PM   #4
Contractor
 
Dan101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Move plug in bathroom remodel


If I understand your question correctly all wires can be spliced in one box just make sure the box is accessible
__________________
Dan101
Owner
J.& D. Remodeling
Chicago, IL
Dan101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 04:49 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,156
Rewards Points: 650
Default

Move plug in bathroom remodel


Thanks
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main bathroom total remodel project NickWa Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 5 09-06-2012 05:34 PM
bathroom remodel complications megancn Building & Construction 6 07-24-2012 05:38 PM
Safe to plug washer into bathroom GFCI outlet? rajpram Electrical 3 03-22-2012 08:20 AM
Bathroom Remodel - Wish I had done it myself JeremyEB Drywall & Plaster 12 02-07-2010 11:52 PM
Bathroom Remodel MeraleeCrowl Remodeling 4 01-11-2009 08:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts