Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2011, 03:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


"Hi there. We just bought a microwave and the depth is 15", the problem is, our cabinet depth is also 15", so it does not allow for ventilation. We called GE and they do not have a bracket that is bigger that would provide depth. Do you have any suggestions on how we can mount it about 2 inches away from the wall and still have it look good?" Another note, not only is the cabinet 2 inches deeper than the others, it sits 2 inches higher, so I am afraid of being able to see so the bottom few inches are exposed.


Last edited by Thankis81; 08-22-2011 at 03:52 PM.
Thankis81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:22 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,111
Rewards Points: 2,132
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


Shim the wall out with some pieces of 2by4's and mount the bracket to them.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


Is this a micro/range hood with a cord?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


We had thought of that, the issue is, not only is our cabinet deeper than the rest but it is also higher, so we are afraid you will be able to see the two by's from the side. I dont want anyone to be able to see the boards...
Thankis81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 03:53 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


Yes, it does have a cord. It is a standard 30" microwave/range hood.
Thankis81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 04:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thankis81 View Post
Yes, it does have a cord. It is a standard 30" microwave/range hood.

I asked 'cause it needs a dedicated circuit.

422.16(B)(4) Range Hoods. Range hoods shall be permitted to be
cord-and-plug-connected with a flexible cord identified as
suitable for use on range hoods in the installation instructions
of the appliance manufacturer, where all of the following
conditions are met:
(1) The flexible cord is terminated with a grounding-type
attachment plug.
Exception: A listed range hood distinctly marked to identify
it as protected by a system of double insulation, or its
equivalent, shall not be required to be terminated with a
grounding-type attachment plug.
(2) The length of the cord is not less than 450 mm (18 in.)
and not over 900 mm (36 in.).
(3) Receptacles are located to avoid physical damage to the
flexible cord.
(4) The receptacle is accessible.
(5) The receptacle is supplied by an individual branch
circuit.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 04:48 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,690
Rewards Points: 2,178
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


I am unsure what ventilation issue you are asking about. Every one I have seen mounts tight to the back wall and extends out to the cabinets on the sides.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 04:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I am unsure what ventilation issue you are asking about. Every one I have seen mounts tight to the back wall and extends out to the cabinets on the sides.
It is a combo range hood/micro. Apparently not ventless.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 05:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,238
Rewards Points: 1,004
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I am unsure what ventilation issue you are asking about. Every one I have seen mounts tight to the back wall and extends out to the cabinets on the sides.
Me too.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:37 PM   #10
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Mounting an under cabinet microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I am unsure what ventilation issue you are asking about. Every one I have seen mounts tight to the back wall and extends out to the cabinets on the sides.
Jim,
They are designed for a 12" deep wall cabinet above. The op said he had a 15" deep cabinet above. The extra 3" is probablycovering the vent slots that usually blow out the top in the front of the unit when they aren't vented to the outside.

THanksis:
You might try the 2 x route but recess the 2x up 3/4" and install a matching cabinet filler strip to hide it.
Mike Hawkins

firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen sink not centered. gmhut Plumbing 5 06-01-2010 11:44 AM
Mounting a Over-the-range Microwave emperor_black Appliances 13 09-02-2009 06:00 PM
Under cabinet range vent mounting problem biosfreak General DIY Discussions 3 07-15-2009 12:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.