Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2010, 12:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Share |
Default

Mounting the sub panel


Thanks to Scuba_Dave I think I am ready to install my sub panel. I have a question regarding mounting the sub panel. What is the best way to secure the wood on the basement wall to mount the sub panel on? What thickness of wood is best to use?

Thanks.

Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:24 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

Mounting the sub panel


I normally use a 1/2 or 3/4" plywood using 1 1/2" screws into plastic anchors. You could also use masonry nails, powder actuated drive pins or Tapcon anchors.

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Default

Mounting the sub panel


For the wood, I was going to use liquid nail and then use the .22 ramset that I used to nail down my bottom plates. Do you think that would work?

How do you mount the subpanel to the wood? What size screw do you use for that?

Thanks.
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:29 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,324
Default

Mounting the sub panel


The adhesive and ramset would work, but you don't need the glue. A drive pin in each corner should work.

I normally use a screw to match the thickness of the wood to mount the panel.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 07:42 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Default

Mounting the sub panel


I have some left over 3/8" OBS that I was going to use. Do you think that would be too thin? Should I just go buy 3/4"?
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 07:45 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Mounting the sub panel


Definitely 3/4".

I use Tapcons almost exclusively, and I have a professional ramset gun.
The ease of use with Tapcons is almost unfair.
I set one in the middle, then level up the board, and then set the rest.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 04:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Default

Mounting the sub panel


What is your guys' thoughts of doubling up the 3/8". Would that be OK? The weather here is bad and I already have the 3/8", so it would save me a trip.

Also, should I cut the celotex so the wood sits against the concrete wall or can I mount the wood on top of the celotex?

Thanks.

Last edited by Abs777; 02-16-2010 at 06:07 PM.
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 06:26 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Default

Mounting the sub panel


Anyone????
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 167
Default

Mounting the sub panel


Come on guys I need your opinions.
Abs777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 04:43 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Mounting the sub panel


I've only used 3/4" plywood ...I don't think it wil matter really
Code only requires that it be secured
As long as both sheets are lined up & it doesn't look ugly

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 05:26 AM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 03:35 AM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Mounting a panel to a concrete wall tigereye Electrical 4 08-21-2009 07:11 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.