Mounting New Load Center To Concrete Block Wall. - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2012, 11:13 AM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Quote:
I planned on stripping the outer sheathing where it comes into the box. Surely I'd be able to bend and loop those aluminum wires and get them into position without harming them. At least it seems like I should be able to do that.
Whether it seems like it or not, it is not legal.

What I would do is come out of the bottom of the meter socket to just below floor level and come in with a LB. Then install a 90 elbow or if that brings the conduit too far from the wall, install a 2nd LB down into the top of the panel.

You only need a #4 AL for the ground between the meter and the panel. Your ground rods and water ground need to come into the meter/disco outside. The neutrals and grounds need to be separated in the panel.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:26 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Whether it seems like it or not, it is not legal.

What I would do is come out of the bottom of the meter socket to just below floor level and come in with a LB. Then install a 90 elbow or if that brings the conduit too far from the wall, install a 2nd LB down into the top of the panel.

You only need a #4 AL for the ground between the meter and the panel. Your ground rods and water ground need to come into the meter/disco outside. The neutrals and grounds need to be separated in the panel.
What if I were to use copper entry cable? Would that be legal? If so what should I be looking for in terms of wire type and size?
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:39 AM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Copper would still be too large to legally make the bend.

3/0 CU diameter = .584 in
.584x8=4.672 in

You could return the GE panel (one I don't like to begin with, but not going to start THAT argument) and buy a deeper panel and use copper. Then you would be legal to come into the back of the panel.

Here's one that would work.

http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...&storeId=10051

another

http://www.homedepot.com/Electrical-...&storeId=10051
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:46 AM   #19
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


I prefer to exit the meter socket out the back and enter the panel through the top. That keeps the conduit inside the structure and makes wiring the panel easier and neater. And code compliant. That is not always possible, but when it is, that is what I do. I like to mount the panel to a piece of 3/4 inch treated plywood which is fastened to the concrete or blocks. The plywood extends above the panel so I can staple the branch circuit conductors above the panel.

I use aluminum triplex rather than a sheathed cable assembly.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:50 AM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Quote:
I use aluminum triplex rather than a sheathed cable assembly.
You can't use triplex in this application. The main is outside.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:52 AM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You can't use triplex in this application. The main is outside.
Okay, I missed that. I would still use non sheathed conductors.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 12:27 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You can't use triplex in this application. The main is outside.
Not sure if this matters but there will be a 200 amp main disconnect in the outside meter socket along with a 200amp main in the load center.
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 12:32 PM   #23
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Because the main is outside, your panel is a sub panel and all the rules of a sub panel apply.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:53 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


I called a friend of mine and we were talking about this. He said I could use 2/0 copper through the back of the panel and he thought it was permitted for 200 amp service.
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:55 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


I'm hearing multiple thins about 2/0 copper. One electric supplier in my town says I need 3/0 for 200 amp service. Says 2/0 is rated for 175 amps. Other supplier says its permissable in my town and that the electrical inspector is okay with it.

Internet searches show that some places allow it and others don't.
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 02:57 PM   #26
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by speedster1 View Post
I'm hearing multiple thins about 2/0 copper. One electric supplier in my town says I need 3/0 for 200 amp service. Says 2/0 is rated for 175 amps. Other supplier says its permissable in my town and that the electrical inspector is okay with it.

Internet searches show that some places allow it and others don't.
If it is a residential service 2/0cu is allowed, and typical.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
speedster1 (07-02-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 05:57 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
If it is a residential service 2/0cu is allowed, and typical.
Thanks. That's what I wanted to hear. I have the boxes mounted and ready to run the wire. Now I just need to figure out how much cable to buy.
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:32 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 294
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


I keep reading and reading and reading and seem to run across lots of conflicting info. I'm going to use 2/0 copper and I assume a 1/0 ground. Since my meter is outside and my load center is inside and connected in a closed system with 2" PVC conduit is it a requirement that I use 2/0-2/0-2/0-1/0 SER cable with the sheath intact? Or is it permissible to use 3 individually marked 2/0 copper wires and a 1/0 ground wire assuming they are marked and rated for this purpose.
speedster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:38 PM   #29
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


Either way!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
speedster1 (07-02-2012)
Old 07-02-2012, 07:45 PM   #30
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Mounting new load center to concrete block wall.


You can't use 2/0 ser. It would need to be 4/0 ser.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Concrete Wall Framing Against Stairs Epicsoccer Remodeling 7 01-13-2013 04:11 PM
Wood panel to concrete block wall sgold33 Building & Construction 22 07-30-2011 12:14 PM
Thick leveling mortar bed OK for concrete block stem wall? dwoloz Building & Construction 6 02-20-2011 09:44 PM
Door opening in load bearing block wall SS396 Building & Construction 12 09-13-2010 06:27 PM
creating door in possible load bearing wall acerunner Building & Construction 6 07-05-2010 05:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts