Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2009, 12:03 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: OR
Posts: 168
Share |
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


J boxes don't just need to be accessible w/o dismantling things. It really helps if they're VISIBLE, which means mounting them up above a level at which some later person might add insulation. Having to crawl on hands and knees feeling your way under a foot of blown in insulation is not fun. If this were my attic I'd add a board from the floor joist up to the rafter and mount the box on that, where it can be seen. Also note that drilling holes in framing members must be done carefully to avoid weakening them.

With roof trusses it's better to not mess with them at all. Just staple wires along side them when going parallel to them. Where you need to cross them you can always run the wires in the tight angles between the truss members, or you can run along the roof. Code says something precise about this but I just stay at least 1 1/2 inches from the top of the roof sheathing to decrease the chance that some future roofer is going to shove a nail into my wires. (Any mistakes in above, please correct me. I'm here also to learn.)
philS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 12:25 PM   #17
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
The ones shown are drilled though the studs and then covered with a nail plate. This is a correct installation.
Absolutely not! Do not start drilling holes thru your trusses!! You are much better off to run a protection strip at least as thick as the wire alongside the wires if you feel you must protect them although you don't even have to do that by code (with a few exceptions).
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 12:59 PM   #18
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk View Post
Absolutely not! Do not start drilling holes thru your trusses!! You are much better off to run a protection strip at least as thick as the wire alongside the wires if you feel you must protect them although you don't even have to do that by code (with a few exceptions).
I did not think these were trusses. OP said that the wire was already done as is in this picture. So it was inspected. And they look more like 2X6 then 2X4....

Anyway... you would not drill holes in trusses. You can drill holes in ceiling joists that are 2X6 or better.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:14 PM   #19
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


or you can staple them to furring strips mounted to the joists like in this picture. the wires remain accessible above the 15 or so inches of blown cellulose this way.

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?-wirefurring.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:23 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


I never drill thru joists unless they are larger
Some 2x6's (like my 2nd floor) are already beyond the span calcs
Drilling a hole in them only weakens them further
I take each instance & verify what the joists are & how far they are spanning
I prefer running a furring strip/2x3/2x4 across the joists & fasten to that

Also take into account if the attic can ever be made living space

In the 1st picture (I know its not yours) I would have run past the ends of ths joists (you can see the cut ends), the down to the bay & down the side of the joist. Slightly more wire but leaves the joists intact if they are slightly "undersized" already

That's one heck of an open un-insulated space DM !!
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:32 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,989
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


For existing wires running across the tops of the floor trusses, is there a way to mark where they are? I'm putting blown-in insulation in my attic soon. I'd like to be able to find the wires later without having to dig.
gma2rjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:42 PM   #22
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


That is for the Mouse to get into the attic to sleep.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 01:56 PM   #23
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
That's one heck of an open un-insulated space DM !!
the roof under it is still insulated... and come next year, it'll all be 15" and more of cellulose....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:49 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gma2rjc View Post
For existing wires running across the tops of the floor trusses, is there a way to mark where they are? I'm putting blown-in insulation in my attic soon. I'd like to be able to find the wires later without having to dig.
Maybe nail a few pieces of furring sticking up along the route & put 'electric" on them?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 02:57 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 3,989
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Thanks, that sounds easy.
gma2rjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:31 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


I avoid attic jb's as much as I can but when I must do them, I like to keep them up above the insulation. Nothing worse than crawling across trusses/joists, tugging on cables, looking for jb's under insulation.



I know that someone is going to tell me I have too many wires in the JB but I am a trined professional and there is plenty of room in there
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:38 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


I hate those "stab" bx connectors. Hell for the next guy to remove (which happened to be me).
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:47 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Oh my gosh!!! Talk about making a mountain out of a mole hill.

Simply put.
If the attic is accessible, then those j-boxes are considered accessible.

The junction boxes you want to install could be mounted either way. However, any wires the run over top of the horizontal beams in the attic need to be physically protected if within 6' of the attic opening or within 2' of the opening if you have pull-down stairs into the attic area. (Code requirement!)
But on a good practice note, because lots of people use the attic as storage space, etc... it would be a better if you tried to keep your Romex cables from laying all over the tops of those horizontal beams in the attic so the don't get stepped on or any storage items placed on them & possible cutting into them @ some point.
Also, if is NOT a good idea to bury these junction boxes in the attic insulation since 1 it makes finding them later harder, but also, the conductors may NOT get the proper ventilation/cooling they may need if buried in insulation in a Hot SummerAttic envirement.
Hope that helps simplifly things for you.
P.S. My gosh 220/221, that's at least 29 fill-points from what I can tell in that picture in what , a standard 1900 box in a Hot Summer Attic??
Also, nice stapling huh....(trained proff??)

Last edited by DragonInspector; 04-08-2009 at 06:51 PM.
DragonInspector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:47 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


It requires patience grasshoppa.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:48 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Ah there is a spacing requirement near the opening?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 09:30 AM
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 08:40 PM
Mounting 3 gangable switch boxes mcvane Electrical 11 01-16-2009 08:43 PM
ceiling junction boxes DangerMouse Electrical 8 07-17-2008 06:44 PM
Electrical boxes in attic Cossack Electrical 6 02-27-2008 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.