Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2009, 12:59 AM   #1
Family Handyman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


I need to mount some junction boxes in my attic for some new wiring. Most junction boxes that I have seen are mounted on the wide face of a joist (location #2 on the image below) but is it acceptable to mount the junction box on "top" of the joist (location #1 on image below) ?

NOTE: This is not a picture of my attic, just a picture i found on google to doodle on.



Last edited by diymonkey; 04-08-2009 at 01:04 PM.
diymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:23 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Yes they are. JB's need to be accessible. This means that you can access them without removing any of the building's structure.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Bob is correct - they are both acceptable. But, I'd side mount to keep the wires and box below the top of the joists as the wiring is currently run. Note the plates being used to protect the current wiring where it passes theough a joist.
Rivethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:40 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


but... wouldn't mounting on top make yer wiring job much easier?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 05:49 AM   #5
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
but... wouldn't mounting on top make yer wiring job much easier?

DM
You mean keep the wires on top? This only makes house fires easier. Easy is not the determining factor in working with electric... safety is!
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:02 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


A: as to jb's, it's ok either way...
B: i'd certainly NOT be worried about fires if the box is on top and wired correctly.
C: the question is about BOXES, not WIRES!
D: if it were me, i'd put the boxes on top simply for the fact if i needed to do anything, the box would not be below the insulation.
no-one said anything about running the wires along the tops of the joists....

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!

Last edited by DangerMouse; 04-08-2009 at 07:48 AM.
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 06:10 AM   #7
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Come on ladies can't we all just get along
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 07:02 AM   #8
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


yeah take it easy here. We are not attacking anyone, just making it as clear as possible. When mounting on top, it is easy to secure wires not on top of the joists. If you do have wires on top nail a 2 X4 cleat next to them, so they are protected.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 07:23 AM   #9
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
If you do have wires on top nail a 2 X4 cleat next to them, so they are protected.

Not a code requirement most of the time. It depends on the distance from the scuttle hole and if you have a permanent ladder or stairs to access the attic. If not it is a waste of time and money.
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 07:34 AM   #10
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,278
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Maybe it's a local code thing, but around here I've never seen the junction boxes in an attic mounted on the side(s) of a ceiling joist. The are always mounted on the top of the joist with the wiring run on the side, some type of securing device (usually a wire staple) securing the wires within twelve inches (12") of the box and per code here-a cover always on the box. That's why it's important to follow NEC and check local codes. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 07:49 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


No way I can do that in mine, like 1.5-2 ft of insulation. Boxes are on top, wires stapled within 12 in of box. Currently I'm fixing some bad wiring, and the bx is shorted somewhere (I did not turn the breaker off, but used a load based continuity checker).
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 08:28 AM   #12
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk View Post
Not a code requirement most of the time. It depends on the distance from the scuttle hole and if you have a permanent ladder or stairs to access the attic. If not it is a waste of time and money.
I did not say it was code. But a good practice and was mentioned as a protection of wires that another posted mentioned.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 08:56 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 4,284
Rewards Points: 2,104
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


They prefer you keep the boxes on top. This makes it impossible for the home owner to cover and hide the JB with boards.
gma2rjc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:07 AM   #14
Family Handyman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


thanks everyone for the comments/suggestions. I would rather mount the box on top and then run the wires along the joist (wide side).

I should have pointed this out in my first post, but this is not a picture of my attic. I just grabbed a picture off google so I can doodle on quickly. Regarding the wires in the picture, I thought they were suppose to be run along a 2x4 between the joist (perpendicular). So this is acceptable to have them as shown in the picture?
diymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 09:54 AM   #15
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable?


The ones shown are drilled though the studs and then covered with a nail plate. This is a correct installation.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 09:30 AM
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 08:40 PM
Mounting 3 gangable switch boxes mcvane Electrical 11 01-16-2009 08:43 PM
ceiling junction boxes DangerMouse Electrical 8 07-17-2008 06:44 PM
Electrical boxes in attic Cossack Electrical 6 02-27-2008 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.