Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 11:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 346
Rewards Points: 250
Default

mount a new wall switch next to an old one


I have a single overhead light with a single wall switch. I'm installing can lighting separately. Can I stick a single blue remodel winged single swich box next to the original construction existing single switch box and get it close enough to work with a double faceplate?

Or should I just move the new switch over an inch and just install it fresh with a new single faceplate?

I thought I could remove the existing box/switch - but since it's original contstruction, it might be hard to pull that box to replace with a new double.

denemante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 12:46 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

mount a new wall switch next to an old one


Too far away.

What kind of box is the existing one? How is it fastened?

There ARE alternatives ....

Upload a close-up picture of the existing box so we can take a looksie ...

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 12:52 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

mount a new wall switch next to an old one


Quote:
Originally Posted by jufengdhj View Post
If for me, I will chose your option 1.

----
2 boxes and 1 plate?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 05:34 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

mount a new wall switch next to an old one


Often if you cut the hole for the 2 gang box it will make it easier to remove the existing box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-28-2011)
Old 09-28-2011, 07:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NE Georgia
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 150
Default

mount a new wall switch next to an old one


An option might be to get a double 9combo) switche made to fit in a single box.

http://www.electrical-picture.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/4/14/how-to-wire-double-light-switchin.jpg
NancyNGA is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NancyNGA For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-28-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confusing wall switch, neutral wire ? TomK1 Electrical 5 10-04-2011 03:58 PM
Wiring an Intermatic Wall Timer in a three way switch aitutaki98 Electrical 6 07-23-2011 11:43 AM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
Help with four way switch jwetsit Electrical 3 05-04-2010 06:05 AM
What wall switch for bath fan/light/heater? janralix HVAC 8 07-20-2009 04:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.