Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2008, 04:30 PM   #1
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Motors


Ok I need a ladder diagram with three motors, but only one motor can be on at a time. Someone please help me.

__________________
There is no such thing as a stupid question, but there is such a thing as an ignorant person, with a question, trying to learn.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 05:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Motors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
Ok I need a ladder diagram with three motors, but only one motor can be on at a time. Someone please help me.
Homework?

Can you use a rotary switch or do you need relay logic?

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 06:30 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Motors


Hopefully it isn't as simple as a rotary switch, I would suspect relay logic or latched start.

Pudge... I don't think we have a problem helping you but could you at least give us your ideas first and then we can connect the dots....
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 11:00 PM   #4
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Motors


Ok well I was strapped for time when I posted. I will write it on a peice of paper and turn it in. I would make a picture and upload it but I really suck at paint. And if you are talking PLCs no he just wants it with relays. I will take a stab at it so I at least get credit. Could you at least tell me how many N.O. and N.C. contacts are in it?
__________________
There is no such thing as a stupid question, but there is such a thing as an ignorant person, with a question, trying to learn.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 11:08 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Motors


Yes but can you verify this for me..... your design is one start/ stop controlling three motors. When you start the equipment one motor runs then shuts off then the next motor runs and shuts off then finally the third...is that what your after...?
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 11:15 PM   #6
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Motors


I think (but not completely sure) he just wants logic to mutually exclude the other two motors when one is switched on. Basically an interlock.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 09:19 AM   #7
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Motors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
I think (but not completely sure) he just wants logic to mutually exclude the other two motors when one is switched on. Basically an interlock.
Yes this is what I wanted.
__________________
There is no such thing as a stupid question, but there is such a thing as an ignorant person, with a question, trying to learn.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 09:59 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,111
Rewards Points: 3,016
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Motors


Use three way switches. Power to common on first 3 way motor control switch. Motor to one traveler and power feed to second motor on other traveler. Switch motor on and no feed to next motor. Daisy chain as many as need putting feed from previous traveler on the common of next motor switch.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:26 AM   #9
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Motors


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Use three way switches. Power to common on first 3 way motor control switch. Motor to one traveler and power feed to second motor on other traveler. Switch motor on and no feed to next motor. Daisy chain as many as need putting feed from previous traveler on the common of next motor switch.
I need to use relays and start stop switches. I am going to draw one up if it is wrong so be it. He will give us a theory lesson on it.
__________________
There is no such thing as a stupid question, but there is such a thing as an ignorant person, with a question, trying to learn.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:51 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Motors


Each motor needs a motor starter (contactor). Each contactor comes with one NO or NC contact on board or both. All you have to do is make sure each motor is electrically interlocked so only one contactor at a time can close (start motor). The sky is the limit on how you want your circuit to behave. I cannot paint or show you a drawing in this format. Maybe someone else can help further.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 11:22 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Motors


Here's one way it can be done
Attached Thumbnails
Motors-001.jpg  
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 11:35 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Motors


Heres a way using a 3 position selector switch
Attached Thumbnails
Motors-selector-001.jpg  
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:06 PM   #13
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Motors


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Here's one way it can be done
I would have to disagree with this one....how are you going to start anything if all contacts open on energizing the ladder circuit? No action has been taken to interlock the motors. Some action has to take place to open or close the contacts on each rung of the ladder to cause the other two motors to not run. I read the logic as I will not be able to start any motor because the motor contacts are located to the left of the action on all rungs. I agree with the rest of the diagram. Maybe my logic is rusty??
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 12:15 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,921
Rewards Points: 2,238
Default

Motors


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I would have to disagree with this one....how are you going to start anything if all contacts open on energizing the ladder circuit? No action has been taken to interlock the motors. Some action has to take place to open or close the contacts on each rung of the ladder to cause the other two motors to not run. I read the logic as I will not be able to start any motor because the motor contacts are located to the left of the action on all rungs. I agree with the rest of the diagram. Maybe my logic is rusty??
It will work, but you must add another contact block. If M1 is on, the NC contacts of M1 open and M2, and M3 will not start.
M1 must be turned off before another motor can start.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 04:06 PM   #15
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,128
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Motors


Yes I agree, the closing of M1 sealing contact must occur and be the action that opens M2 and M3. Then on down the ladder in similar fashion. What I'm trying to do here is to get Pudge to interact with us so he can learn the concept.

Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier 58MVP Blower Problem mickd HVAC 48 11-12-2014 05:28 PM
Hitachi Miter saw trip 20A jamiedolan Electrical 43 11-25-2008 01:06 PM
110V-230V compatible electrical motors ??h? ogumodo Electrical 8 11-03-2008 10:11 AM
Inducer motors on Bryant 350AAV Rookietinner HVAC 1 02-18-2007 04:38 PM
Wisper aire whole house fans.Dual fan motors. Doug Crf Building & Construction 1 07-21-2006 12:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.