Motion Sensor Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2012, 02:05 PM   #1
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Motion sensor switch


I want to install a motion sensor switch on my attached porch to replace an existing single pole switch. This is the switch I have looked at but it is rated as "indoor".

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.UKkR7Wexw1E

I have not been able to find a switch that is rated for "outdoor".

My location is well protected from the weather by the porch roof. Do you think I can use this switch and will it hold up?

If anyone has a recommendation, please give me a link

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:24 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,672
Rewards Points: 2,648
Default

Motion sensor switch


rj....I installed some of the Lutron occupancy sensors....love the little bastards (seeing how my wife and kids have not figured out what the off position on a light switch is)...

Here is a link to their 'selection'....

http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...%20Maestro.pdf

I had a quick look and did not find any reference to 'outside'.....

But from what you describe....I bet if you use an exterior rated plate or just take some RTV and run a seal around the edges....I would think you would be fine.

Your biggest issue will be water blown by the wind.....

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,818
Rewards Points: 1,516
Default

Motion sensor switch


Most "exterior plates" are going to cover the motion sensor. I have not tried a clear plastic in use cover, but I would bet the sensor would not work under one.

I would take a look at
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/heath-z...l#.UKk_A4aQN8E

The sensor is outdoor rated. The switch isn't, but could be installed under a plastic in use cover.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:20 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Motion sensor switch


Many of those electronic switches (whether it be timers or occupancy sensors) do not work well in the cold.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Motion sensor switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Many of those electronic switches (whether it be timers or occupancy sensors) do not work well in the cold.
The OP is in the South Carolina Low Country... while they use the word "cold" down there, it's not the same word that you know, k_buz.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave632 For This Useful Post:
rjniles (11-18-2012)
Old 11-18-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Motion sensor switch


Might be easier to replacing the outside light with one that has a built in motion sensor.
toastandjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:03 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Motion sensor switch


Sometimes I give more information than what is necessary in the chance someone searches for the subject.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:16 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,241
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Motion sensor switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave632 View Post
The OP is in the South Carolina Low Country... while they use the word "cold" down there, it's not the same word that you know, k_buz.
How true! I was in Maine last week and it snowed (thought I would freeze to death). And I am a displaced Yankee.

Advertisement

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual wiring for motion sensor security light ent Electrical 2 09-14-2011 03:00 PM
Motion Activated Light Control Issue mbaudler Electrical 9 12-14-2010 09:52 AM
Dual-brite motion detector light to operate second light? downunder Electrical 2 09-10-2010 04:48 PM
Wiring 2 Motion Sensor Flood Lights Through Siding Datwood2009 Electrical 3 05-15-2010 11:16 AM
motion detector wiring (alarm systems) WendyS Electrical 3 02-25-2010 11:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts