Motion Sensor Causing Lights To Flicker - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 12:06 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


If I put the incandescent bulb in any of the receptacles I have the same result, no flickering and no humming on the computer speakers. When I have only three bulbs in any combination (1, 2, 3 or 2, 3, 4, etc.) I still have no flickering but I do have humming on the computer speakers. I now have the incandescent bulb on the first receptacle.

I called the manufacturer and the technician said the 30W load is the minimum total, not individual bulbs. Each of my bulbs is 23W. He also said if I wire the receptacles in series that should take care of the problem. I thought I did that. He stated that a parallel scheme will get less power to the sensor.

I have the wire from the circuit breaker box going into a junction box where it splits to the dedicated garage door outlet and the motion sensor, nothing more. The wire then comes out of the motion sensor to the first receptacle. I have the wires coming in and going out wired together with a pigtail with connects to the receptacle. This continues to receptacles 2 and 3, with receptacle 4 having only one 12-2 wire entering and hooked up to the receptacle. I do not have a connection in any of the receptacles for a ground so the ground wires for 1, 2, and 3 are wired together and 4 is just capped off. The ground wires for the line and load at the motion sensor are connected to the ground of the sensor.

Any new thoughts?

Advertisement

Zaunerstollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:43 PM   #17
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Leave one incandescent bulb in and call it a day? LOL
I'm betting it's still the ballasts on the CFLs.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (11-29-2010)
Old 11-29-2010, 08:50 PM   #18
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


For the light sockets do NOT wire them in series they are connected in parallel that mean from light socket to light socket is Black to Black and White to White that it nothing else with the connection confreation if you do diffrent the light will be dim or CFL will flicker or stay dim one of the two depending on the ballast design.

Now for the two wire motion sensor { sans netural verison } it do need a incentscent bulb on to act like a shunt to keep the motion sensor electronic control working { myself I never use the 2 wire motion sensor much as possible always get 3 or 4 wire motion sensor depending on conferation like single pole or three way switch set up }

And with electronic ballast they will flicker due the voltage surge it will bounce up and down to get the motion sensor electronic control to work.

All the motion sensor I install are with netural due obovous reason of CFL electronic ballast or LED one of the two will drive some motion sensors with out netural batty and I have got this kind of service call both USA and France side { Our French code we are required have netural at switch point now it was in effect for 2 years allready }

If you really want to keep all CFL on that switch then you will have to exchange that and get one with netural only if you have legit netural in your switch box the switch loops are out of the window on this one.

If have more question just holler one of us will help ya.

That situation will apply to lighted switch handles when the lights are off it the excat the same situation.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (11-29-2010)
Old 11-29-2010, 10:31 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Merci, merci Marc!! I very much appreciate your help and advice. Have a wonderful Christmas!
Zaunerstollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 11:13 PM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Not a problem at all and have a nice NoŽl to you.


Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-06-2010)
Old 11-29-2010, 11:37 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


MRRRH!

"No neutral connection required"!

THAT is the problem.

The problem is the standby current required by the electronics in the sensor.

The first thing a CFL does with AC is chop it up into DC and charge a capacitor with it.

Pull a small current through it long enough the cap will eventually charge up enough to let the electronics work, and the lamp will light, draining the cap rather quickly. The process will repeat. The light will "flicker" or even "flash". The problem is that CFLs are not even remotely resistive loads.

Add an incandescent bulb, which IS a resistive load. Further, a cold filament has a very low resistance. Now your standby current doesn't have to go through rectifiers and won't light your CFLs.

THAT is the difference.

The entire problem would be solved with a motion sensor that has its own neutral connection.
emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emolatur For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-06-2010)
Old 11-30-2010, 04:49 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,414
Rewards Points: 826
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Reminds me of the time I got hit changing a ceiling fixture with the switch off.It was a lighted switch.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-06-2010)
Old 11-30-2010, 10:12 PM   #23
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Reminds me of the time I got hit changing a ceiling fixture with the switch off.It was a lighted switch.
Tell me about it I got zonked few time when I am not looking at lighted switch handle even the neon bulb pretty much burnt out and still get ya

That why I have to double check the switch handle set up and what conferation and use the NCV tester and wiggy tester to verify it.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-06-2010)
Old 11-30-2010, 10:13 PM   #24
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Reminds me of the time I got hit changing a ceiling fixture with the switch off.It was a lighted switch.
Fan remote modules might shut off the power enough to stop the fan from turning, but there is still enough juice there to wack you good, ask me how I know
VersaBar is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to VersaBar For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-06-2010)
Old 11-30-2010, 10:18 PM   #25
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Quote:
Originally Posted by VersaBar View Post
Fan remote modules might shut off the power enough to stop the fan from turning, but there is still enough juice there to wack you good, ask me how I know
Try that with T&K set up that will useally get ya espcally when someone did not pay attetion between active and netural conductors.

I have dealt with this mess for a while in European side not much diffrence between the two beside the voltage.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-06-2010)
Old 12-06-2010, 07:54 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


I think I may have found my item. I found an item labeled an "occupancy sensor" at a competitor's store. This item states:
Requires a neutral (white) wire connection

I'm going to pick it up tonight and install it tomorrow morning. I'll let you guys know how it works. I really appreciate all of you helping me figure this out.
Zaunerstollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:57 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Just try one incandescent bulb and leave the rest { CFL } alone if that did the trick I will give you a trick how to slove it.

Merci.
Marc
Good point. I had the same issue when I tried to use CFL lights with a decora motion sensor switch. I replaced one with incandescent and left the rest CFL and it worked fine.

Homer
homerb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to homerb For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-08-2010)
Old 12-08-2010, 04:04 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


I think I may finally have and answer to this. I talked to a technician from the company that manufactured the sensor. He said that I wired the system in parallel initially and presently. He said series would fix the problem. This is how he explained it should be wired:

12-2 from the motion sensor enters the box for light number one. Black from the line attaches to one connector and black the load connects to the other. The neutrals are connected together and not to the light. This continues through light numbers two and three. At light four, the 12-2 inters the box and each wire is attached to the respective connector on the light. That he says is a true series and will give enough of a draw to exceed the minimum amount for the motion sensor, light will no longer flicker, and problem solved. Sounds correct to me, how about you guys?
Zaunerstollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:12 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


If the motion sensor uses a triac to control the load,
then maybe the output is not clean,
chopped in some way,
possibbly a faulty triac.
Or the circuit doesnt like the inductive load of the CFLs.
Try a new one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaunerstollen View Post
I'm having a weird problem with my newly installed garage lights on a motion sensor switch. I have a new, dedicated circuit that was installed this morning. On this circuit I have an always live outlet for the garage door and four porcelain ceiling lamp holders on a motion sensor switch. Each of the lamp holders has a 27W CFL light bulb on it. The lights flicker when the switch is set to AUTO and stop flickering when the switch is set to ON. I also noticed the motion sensor indicator on the switch flickers too on auto. Also the speakers on my computer (which are inside on the other side of the house) hum when the garage lights come on. The computer is on a different circuit altogether. I'm returning the motion sensor tomorrow hoping it is only faulty. You guys have any thoughts or ideas on this? Thanks in advance.

Last edited by dmxtothemax; 12-08-2010 at 05:14 PM.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-08-2010)
Old 12-08-2010, 09:18 PM   #30
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Motion sensor causing lights to flicker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaunerstollen View Post
I think I may finally have and answer to this. I talked to a technician from the company that manufactured the sensor. He said that I wired the system in parallel initially and presently. He said series would fix the problem. This is how he explained it should be wired:

12-2 from the motion sensor enters the box for light number one. Black from the line attaches to one connector and black the load connects to the other. The neutrals are connected together and not to the light. This continues through light numbers two and three. At light four, the 12-2 inters the box and each wire is attached to the respective connector on the light. That he says is a true series and will give enough of a draw to exceed the minimum amount for the motion sensor, light will no longer flicker, and problem solved. Sounds correct to me, how about you guys?
Do not hook them up in SERIES otherwise you will have the light very dim or not functing at all.

All the light sockets are wired parllel no question asked.

I do not know why that tech guy try to give you a silly advise to you it will NOT work with both CFL and inscentsent bulbs at all { I know the insencents may lit up but super dim so not worth it on this part }

Let me post the photo



This will give you a clear idea why keep it parallel.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Zaunerstollen (12-09-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring receptacle > switch > motion sensor lights Van Home Electrical 11 08-10-2010 12:27 AM
Wiring 2 Motion Sensor Flood Lights Through Siding Datwood2009 Electrical 3 05-15-2010 11:16 AM
Multiple Motion Sensor Lights Tripping GFCI Wan Miguel Electrical 6 05-05-2010 12:01 PM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 09:35 PM
Newbie's lights flicker and bulbs blow out MA_in_PC_Fla Electrical 11 05-21-2008 03:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts