Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2012, 08:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

motion detector lighting


I am replacing my motion detector with a new one .The wires coming out of the box are white and black no ground. I hooked up the wires and the lights do not work.

Tbonehdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:07 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

motion detector lighting


Bad bulbs?

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,867
Default

motion detector lighting


Loose connection, is there a switch or did you leave the breaker off?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 09:40 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,409
Default

motion detector lighting


Maybe if you tell us the connections you made someone will see what is wrong.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:28 AM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,407
Default

motion detector lighting


What position was the "On-Time" switch in ?
Was it in the Test position ?
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:51 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

motion detector lighting


I have tried it in all positions, Let it calibrate for 2 minutes. Tried putting it in manual mode. I have power to the light, it just won't turn on. the only thing I don;t have is a groung wire from the house line. Home was built in 1958
Tbonehdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:55 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

motion detector lighting


I checked the bulbs there good, white to white and black to black
Tbonehdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 01:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,407
Default

motion detector lighting


Not having the ground wire, is generally not an issue with most motion lights.

Trying all positions is a waste of time, unless you are working after dusk. The test position is the only one that functions in daylight.

Manual mode is reset to automatic mode by daylight.

Assuming that you really do have power to the fixture and that your bulbs are either incandescent or halogen, I'd take it back to the store and ask for a replacement.
You may have a defective unit.

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual wiring for motion sensor security light ent Electrical 2 09-14-2011 02:00 PM
Motion Activated Light Control Issue mbaudler Electrical 9 12-14-2010 08:52 AM
Wiring 2 Motion Sensor Flood Lights Through Siding Datwood2009 Electrical 3 05-15-2010 10:16 AM
motion detector wiring (alarm systems) WendyS Electrical 3 02-25-2010 10:39 PM
Motion flood "non-standard" wiring Fishin_Man Electrical 5 01-14-2009 03:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.