Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 05:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


I have a regular single pole wall switch that controls 8 hard wired 110 VAC motion detectors that is also connected to a 110 VAC alarm sounding device. The problem I am getting is I have to flip fast the toggle switch on and off by guess work until the motion detector will stop trigerring alarm sound automatically. Is there a device or a solution to replace this switch so that it will just arm the motion detectors and don't sound the alarm automatically and just put it in ready mode awaiting for detection. Is there a 110 VAC keypad or special wall switches to solve this issue. Thanks a lot.

marvin1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:59 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,891
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by marvin1944 View Post
I have a regular single pole wall switch that controls 8 hard wired 110 VAC motion detectors that is also connected to a 110 VAC alarm sounding device. The problem I am getting is I have to flip fast the toggle switch on and off by guess work until the motion detector will stop trigerring alarm sound automatically. Is there a device or a solution to replace this switch so that it will just arm the motion detectors and don't sound the alarm automatically and just put it in ready mode awaiting for detection. Is there a 110 VAC keypad or special wall switches to solve this issue. Thanks a lot.
Remove the audio device.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 9
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Remove the audio device.
I can not remove the audio device. It is intended for a security system in my house, so the audio device of the alarm device is intended when motion is detected. Any more bright ideas from the expert electrician?
marvin1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:27 AM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,891
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by marvin1944 View Post
I can not remove the audio device. It is intended for a security system in my house, so the audio device of the alarm device is intended when motion is detected. Any more bright ideas from the expert electrician?
I don't understand what you expect the outcome to be? If the audio is tied into the security light then the audio will be on with the light.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:51 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


So, after reading your post 3 times to try to figure out what exactly you were talking about, I think I got it.

You want to know if there is some way for your single pole switch to determine what it should turn on/arm?

You could install a second single pole switch breaking the existing switch leg from the motions to the audio, but that is only if I am interpreting your question correctly.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 08:31 AM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


[quote=marvin1944;1066574]I can not remove the audio device. It is intended for a security system in my house, so the audio device of the alarm device is intended when motion is detected. Any more bright ideas from the expert electrician?[/quote]


I've got some ideas for you smart . Why don't you get a real alarm system instead of trying to make one? Or maybe hire a real electrician instead of doing this yourself. Clearly you haven't got the knowledge to do this yourself. A little more studying and a little less lip will do you wonders.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:08 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 9
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
So, after reading your post 3 times to try to figure out what exactly you were talking about, I think I got it.

You want to know if there is some way for your single pole switch to determine what it should turn on/arm?

You could install a second single pole switch breaking the existing switch leg from the motions to the audio, but that is only if I am interpreting your question correctly.
FYI, I don't have light, only motion and audio.
I have tried your solution adding extra switch before, but this will only hold off the audio to fire up. As soon as I switch on the extra switch, the alarm(audio) fires up. Hence, I have to flip switch on and off as fast until the audio sound stops and the motion detector settles itself into a ready mode stage waiting for motion intrusion. My purpose here is to avoid the flipping method.
marvin1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:13 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 9
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


[quote=Missouri Bound;1066752]
Quote:
Originally Posted by marvin1944 View Post
I can not remove the audio device. It is intended for a security system in my house, so the audio device of the alarm device is intended when motion is detected. Any more bright ideas from the expert electrician?[/quote]


I've got some ideas for you smart . Why don't you get a real alarm system instead of trying to make one? Or maybe hire a real electrician instead of doing this yourself. Clearly you haven't got the knowledge to do this yourself. A little more studying and a little less lip will do you wonders.
Why are you freaking furious, Missouri Bound. I have a wired real alarm system installed by professional. If I hire a real one, the joy of success and glory on a DIY project is far gone and I don't think you are far smarter with your given ideas. So back off.

Last edited by marvin1944; 12-06-2012 at 01:52 AM.
marvin1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:11 AM   #9
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Manufacturer and model number of the motion detectors?

Wire a separate switch for the alarm and leave the motion detectors on (in ready mode) all the time and just turn the alarm on when desired?

I'm sure they draw very little power...

Last edited by TTW; 12-06-2012 at 05:13 AM.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:19 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 9
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
Manufacturer and model number of the motion detectors?

Wire a separate switch for the alarm and leave the motion detectors on (in ready mode) all the time and just turn the alarm on when desired?

I'm sure they draw very little power...
Mfr: 8 motion detector: Heath Zenith model 5316
1 sound alarm device: Potter MH120W
(both are 120VAC)

I have done your recommendation (similar to K_buz' solution) but as soon as I desire to turn on the switch meant for the alarm device, it fires the sound immediately.

Last edited by marvin1944; 12-06-2012 at 12:25 PM.
marvin1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:26 PM   #11
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Sounds like you need to get them out of manual mode. Also see page 4 of the manual, heating vents and lights could cause this.

Manual here:

http://heath-zenith.hcents.com/data/...95-5109-13.pdf
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,489
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Those floodlight motion detectors do not work well with electronics on the load side. That is why they say incandescent only, no CFL's.

So, your alarm may simply be incompatible with the sensors.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:47 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 9
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Those floodlight motion detectors do not work well with electronics on the load side. That is why they say incandescent only, no CFL's.

So, your alarm may simply be incompatible with the sensors.
However once I have it reset thru toggling the switch on and off, things get normal and makes it ready to do motion detecting and sounding. I may consider the load side is compatible though it isn't a light fixtures.
marvin1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:59 PM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by marvin1944 View Post
However once I have it reset thru toggling the switch on and off, things get normal and makes it ready to do motion detecting and sounding. I may consider the load side is compatible though it isn't a light fixtures.
for testing, wire an incandescent light in instead of the alarm and see if that works ok, if it does, you can use a relay.

Are the motion detectors mounted outside?
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 02:16 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Ca.
Posts: 9
Default

motion detector 110 hard wired - how to arm in ready mode


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
for testing, wire an incandescent light in instead of the alarm and see if that works ok, if it does, you can use a relay.

Are the motion detectors mounted outside?
I have done a test using a light instead of an alarm and it works before I go for it. All fixtures motion and sound are installed interior. If I use a relay, pls. give the specs, what to buy and show how to install it.


Last edited by marvin1944; 12-06-2012 at 02:30 PM.
marvin1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wired smoke alarm in NYS ADKstorm Electrical 12 04-30-2009 09:58 PM
NEED HELP with hard wired timer to outlet puffedupseagull Electrical 4 04-24-2009 09:44 PM
Hard wired Low Voltage Transformer? VistaV Electrical 9 04-25-2008 10:04 AM
Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right?? Al the Diy guy Electrical 6 02-10-2008 12:28 PM
Hard wired fire alarms keeping going off sdgoss Electrical 6 11-09-2005 08:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.