Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2009, 06:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Share |
Default

More than one wire on bus terminal?


Hi;
I'm sure this question has been asked before, but let me just be sure:
In my main panel, I have no more spots open on the left side ground/neutral bus.
I observed that several of the terminals had two or three ground wires under them, so I did same on a couple of others.
They do fit perfectly, and are nice and snug, no problem, so I am assuming that these terminals are designed for more than one wire.
Note: I kept wire size same for multiple wires on the same terminal.

FW

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 07:21 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

More than one wire on bus terminal?


For the netural it must have one conductor per termation hole but for grounding conductor you can have up to 3 conductors per hole however it depending on which manufacter some will list that many and some not.

Double check the panel listing it useally tell the numbers of grounding conductor and other requirements.

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 07:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

More than one wire on bus terminal?


OK. Thanks. I guess if I can double-up on some more of the grounds so I have a spot for a neutral on the one side. Otherwise, I have to wirenut the neutral and bring it all the way around to the other side.

FW
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 08:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

More than one wire on bus terminal?


What make panel? Someone may know

I know square D allows 2 grounds of the same wire gauge
I'm not sure if they allow 3

Neutrals as said only one
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 09:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

More than one wire on bus terminal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
What make panel? Someone may know

I know square D allows 2 grounds of the same wire gauge
I'm not sure if they allow 3

Neutrals as said only one
It's a C&H type CH Load Center, 200A.
The ground/neutral bar on the left side is not a full length one. From what I can see in the product photos, I can get a full bus for the left side. That might be an option soon, as I continue to add breakers.
Otherwise, there are still a decent number of open terminals on the right side.
I just checked the specs for this loadcenter, and it does allow for 3 #14-#10 of the same size.

Seeing the photos on the C&H web site, with the perfect wiring, I would really like to completely rewire the panel so that all the wires are neat, but I didn't do the original job, and it would be a lot of work, and a long time without any power in the house. Maybe someday...

FW
__________________


Last edited by KE2KB; 01-31-2009 at 09:35 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:55 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

More than one wire on bus terminal?


Get the extra grounding strip, or get one long enough that will hold all the grounds in the panel with room to spare.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring/Programming of a Honeywell TH8320 Thermostat homrjheath HVAC 4 10-15-2008 01:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.