Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 09:19 AM   #1
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,029
Share |
Default

More than on circuit to an outbuilding


I am in the process of installing a 60 amp sub panel in my attached garage to alleviate my overcrowded 200 amp main panel. I will be transfering my water heater, irrigation pump and garage circuits into the new panel.

As phase 2, I am replacing the wiring to my 2 outbuildings, a garage/workshop and the pump house for my potable water pump. The existing wiring to each building is a 20 amp, 120 volt circuit using 12-2 UF cable. It is buried about 3-6" deep and has stuck up out of the ground in spots (not good). My plan is to come off my new garage panel with 1.25" SCH40 PVC (I have a lot of it) to the garage/workshop (about 60 feet). I plan pulling 4 #`12 THWN to create a 20amp MWBC for that building.

I would also like to pull in 3 more #12 THWN to the garage, switch to 12-2 UF cable to the other side of the building and go buried to the pump house(about 15 feet). I would use this as a 240 volt circuit for the new pump I am installing. No 120 volt required at the pump house. This will save me a considerable amount of digging.

The 240 circuit will have no termination in the garage, other than the splice from the THWN to the UF. In fact I was planning a separate box just for the 240 volt splice to keep it away from the 120 volt MWBC.

Question is: will I be violating the no more than 1 circuit to a building without a sub panel rule by having the 240 circuit for the pump go thru the garage?

I have considered another small sub panel in the garage/workshop but really do not need the capacity.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:24 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

More than on circuit to an outbuilding


Good question. I am not certain as you will not be feeding the structure twice, just passing through. Lets here from some of the other electricians on this.
If this were my project, I would use the conduit to feed a sub panel in the first structure. From that sub panel I would feed the remaining areas requiring power. Heres the article.

II. More Than One Building or Other Structure
225.30 Number of Supplies. Where more than one building
or other structure is on the same property and under
single management, each additional building or other structure
that is served by a branch circuit or feeder on the load
side of the service disconnecting means shall be supplied
by only one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in
225.30(A) through (E). For the purpose of this section, a
multiwire branch circuit shall be considered a single circuit.
(A) Special Conditions. Additional feeders or branch circuits
shall be permitted to supply the following:
(1) Fire pumps
(2) Emergency systems
(3) Legally required standby systems
(4) Optional standby systems
(5) Parallel power production systems
(6) Systems designed for connection to multiple sources of
supply for the purpose of enhanced reliability

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
rjniles (05-05-2011)
Old 05-02-2011, 10:38 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

More than on circuit to an outbuilding


Scratching head too. I suppose 225.31 & 225.32 would apply also?

225.31 Disconnecting Means. Means shall be provided for disconnecting all ungrounded conductors that supply or pass through the building or structure.

225.32 Location. The disconnecting means shall be installed either inside or outside of the building or structure served or where the conductors pass through the building or structure. The disconnecting means shall be at a readily accessible location nearest the point of entrance of the conductors. (complete section not quoted here)
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
rjniles (05-05-2011)
Old 05-02-2011, 12:59 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Default

More than on circuit to an outbuilding


Since this second circuit passes through the building, it will require a disconnect in that first building. That, IMHO, would constitute a second circuit and violate 225.30. I would run a small sub with #8 at the first detached building and feed the pump from there. That would also allow for more circuits at the shop if ever needed.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HouseHelper For This Useful Post:
rjniles (05-05-2011)
Old 05-05-2011, 02:01 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,029
Default

More than on circuit to an outbuilding


Thanks to all that replied. It appears my plan will not fly. I think I will follow your collective advise and install a small 120/240, 30 or 40 amp sub in the workshop and feed the pump house from the sub. Looks like I can add a disconnect breaker to a 8-12 space main lug panel and get a way pretty cheaply. I am aware that I will have to add a separate ground par, a breaker hold down kit and ground rods.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 07:49 AM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

More than on circuit to an outbuilding


Good luck Let us know how it turns out.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dispute: Oven malfunction after h/w guys used the circuit rational Appliances 18 05-17-2011 10:37 PM
New circuit breaker owen22 Electrical 14 01-12-2010 07:08 PM
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 09:04 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.