Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2011, 08:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

more on sub panel


ok i want to see if this is right, main panel has only ground bar with main ground and all neutrals attached to it. i am putting a 60 amp 2 pole breaker in and running the 2 legs to the main bus lugs in the sub panel. i would connect a wire from the main panel ground bar to where in the sub panel? (it has only one (neutral?) bar. )

waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

more on sub panel


Is this subpanel in the same structure as the main or detached structure?

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:46 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

more on sub panel


same structure
waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

more on sub panel


You need four wires - two hots, ground, and neutral - ground and neutral separated in the subpanel, so you need a ground bar kit for the subpanel.

Same structure so no disconnect or ground rods (or ufer) needed at subpanel.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

more on sub panel


so my ground and neutral wires both connect to the ground bar in the main panel then split to separate bars in sub panel?
waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:01 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

more on sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by waynebo View Post
so my ground and neutral wires both connect to the ground bar in the main panel then split to separate bars in sub panel?
Yes....
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:02 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

more on sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by waynebo View Post
so my ground and neutral wires both connect to the ground bar in the main panel then split to separate bars in sub panel?
correct -
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:07 PM   #8
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Blog Entries: 7
Default

more on sub panel


Like I said in the other thread, you will need to add a ground bar to the subpanel.
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:21 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

more on sub panel


forgive my ignorance. neutral bar in sub is isolated from panel, ground bar connects to panel metal enclosure. and should i ground sub panel? how come sub panel came with out ground bar?i'll have to buy one? (but came with bonding screw)
waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:51 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

more on sub panel


Yes, you will have to buy one. A small panel like yours is used as the main in some situations. It is because of that it doesn't come with a grounding buss. Wherever you bought the panel they should have the buss. And you will isolate the neutral and bond the ground.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:53 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

more on sub panel


Not adding them where they might not be needed is just another cost saving for the manufacturer.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:55 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

more on sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Not adding them where they might not be needed is just another cost saving for the manufacturer.
And a way to get 500% markup on the part when you DO need it.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 10:07 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

more on sub panel


thanks all
waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:23 PM   #14
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Blog Entries: 7
Default

more on sub panel


The green screw that was included with the panel for connecting the neutral bus to the panel box, do NOT use it. That is only for when you are using that panel as a main panel.

I would grab pics of mine and add markings to illustrate, but I'm falling asleep in my chair. Maybe tommorrow.
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 09:06 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Default

more on sub panel


thanks

waynebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 02:01 PM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 10:16 AM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.