Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 09:54 PM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Share |
Default

Modular home electric


Your panel will supply 24000 watts for home useage. Is your heat electric?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:52 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Modular home electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
.... Is your heat electric?
The OP stated he has oil heat.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 10:59 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Modular home electric


We ran a new line to the garage to free up the 100 amp panel in the home, and for future use in the garage, air compressor, etc. My Father in law owns a company that goes into foreclosed plants and companies and buys up company inventory for liquidation. I had the copper wire, conduit and fittings, square d panels and breakers available at no cost. Unfortunately the wire was #4 copper on a 500' roll. Material was free, only had to pay labor. I saved what was left of the wire, and have a 8 space square d QO main lug sub panel with a 50 amp breaker for the stove, 30 amp for the dryer, and 4 20 amp breakers for washer and spares. I also have 1 1/2" or 1 1/4" conduit to run from pole to sub panel which I intended to mount near the 100 amp main box in the home. Like I said, we're having no breaker issues currently, but I have the material so why not use it. I figured we'd run a line for the AC unit from the sub panel also. I have a 100, 70, and 60 amp breaker also for the 200 amp main breaker box, so the sub panel could be fed by any of them. I was leaning toward the 70 amp.
ricbrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:13 PM   #19
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,221
Default

Modular home electric


This isn't the news you want to hear, but the entire install of the new subpanel is illegal if the garage is attached. The only way to make it legal is run a larger feed to the home.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:46 PM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Modular home electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
The OP stated he has oil heat.
Ahhh missed it ...post #6.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:31 AM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modular home electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by ricbrk
We ran a new line to the garage to free up the 100 amp panel in the home, and for future use in the garage, air compressor, etc. My Father in law owns a company that goes into foreclosed plants and companies and buys up company inventory for liquidation. I had the copper wire, conduit and fittings, square d panels and breakers available at no cost. Unfortunately the wire was #4 copper on a 500' roll. Material was free, only had to pay labor. I saved what was left of the wire, and have a 8 space square d QO main lug sub panel with a 50 amp breaker for the stove, 30 amp for the dryer, and 4 20 amp breakers for washer and spares. I also have 1 1/2" or 1 1/4" conduit to run from pole to sub panel which I intended to mount near the 100 amp main box in the home. Like I said, we're having no breaker issues currently, but I have the material so why not use it. I figured we'd run a line for the AC unit from the sub panel also. I have a 100, 70, and 60 amp breaker also for the 200 amp main breaker box, so the sub panel could be fed by any of them. I was leaning toward the 70 amp.
You can only run one feed of power to a structure.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:35 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Modular home electric


Maybe I'll just leave matters alone then since no breakers are tripping, and start looking for #2 copper to replace the #4 currently feeding the existing panel. I'll see our local code enforcement officer at church today. I'l explain the situation to him and get some imput. At least I didn't install the panel and find out it's illegal. Thanks for the advice.
ricbrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:21 AM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modular home electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by ricbrk View Post
Maybe I'll just leave matters alone then since no breakers are tripping, and start looking for #2 copper to replace the #4 currently feeding the existing panel. I'll see our local code enforcement officer at church today. I'l explain the situation to him and get some imput. At least I didn't install the panel and find out it's illegal. Thanks for the advice.
Running #2 would be a lot of work for the amount of extra capacity it would get you. I think you could go 3/0-3/0-1/0-#4 CU and have 200 amps. But since you are not having trouble and are not planning to add anything else I would leave it alone.

I think if I had trouble I may also think about switching water heater and range to gas.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:24 AM   #24
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Modular home electric


Quote:
Originally Posted by ricbrk View Post
Maybe I'll just leave matters alone then since no breakers are tripping, and start looking for #2 copper to replace the #4 currently feeding the existing panel. I'll see our local code enforcement officer at church today. I'l explain the situation to him and get some imput. At least I didn't install the panel and find out it's illegal. Thanks for the advice.
That's a good idea to visit with the local inspector. To change to a larger service to the house is more complicated and costly than you may think unless you can get the materials through your dads business. You also may be forced into a reclassification of your home.

Just something to think about as I don't know what service combination equipment you have at the meter. You might run by the inspector if he would allow feed thru lugs installed in the service equipment at the meter (it may already have them). Reason I say this is if you ever upgrade you will not be able to connect that larger feeder for 200 amps to the existing service equipment without feed thru lugs. You may have to change out what you have for service equipment.

I actually do not think you will have any issues staying with the 100 amp service since what you listed does not include electric furnace.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
mobile home half electric outlets not working...please baby327nd Electrical 11 02-07-2013 10:51 PM
modular home builders in midwest that will do custom designs 7777 Building & Construction 2 01-22-2013 02:29 PM
Residential air handler in modular home. Doc Holliday HVAC 31 04-23-2012 08:11 PM
Converting Electric home to Gas Rick2003 Plumbing 1 04-17-2011 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.