Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 10:27 PM   #1
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


I am replacing a feed through breaker panel the bus bar and breaker was inverted but the main breaker is up and down with on being down and I also noticed that the plastic in the back that holds the bus bar is cracked.

I bought a newer model from the same manufacture that has a much better design and a better main breaker. But unlike the one I already have when you invert it the breaker slots don't line up and cover does not fit properly.

I was thinking about just cutting out the center where the breaker slots are. I measured and if I cut it just right all I have to do is turn it over and it will line up just have to bolt or weld it in place. Would this be legal

I also thought about putting the panel the way it came and feeding the bus bar hot and keeping the panel under the 6 throw rule. Or would that not work because I am using feed through. There will be 4 double pole breakers and the one main that feeds a sub panel.


I really hate the cheap design of this panel.



I plan to replace it with this.


__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 03-09-2012 at 10:32 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 08:11 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Are you trying to use the old cover on the new panel?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 08:20 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


I think I would just change out the whole panel. No need to rework the old cover or wonder if the inspector will approve it. Also the time and labor saved by not reworking the cover.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 08:41 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


My plan is to change out the whole panel. I have the new panel and I can invert the bus but the cover won't fit after. I thought it would be like my current panel but not so lucky.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:04 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,898
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Looks like a 1 hour change out with the small number of conductors entering the old panel. I am wondering how you got a 3r, non-reversible panel with a main in the wrong orientation.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:06 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Will the breaker operate so that up is on? If it operates horizontally you would flip the can and cover,
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:08 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,898
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Will the breaker operate so that up is on? If it operates horizontally you would flip the can and cover,
Jim, how do you flip a 3r panel?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:12 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Did not look at it that close.

Wait, maybe the panel is meant for Australia?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:15 AM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,898
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Did not look at it that close.

Wait, maybe the panel is meant for Australia?
I guess you could flip it but the cover would be quite unhandy.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 01:06 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Seems I have to modify the breaker panel anyways when I put the Siemens interlock kit I need for my generator.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 01:25 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Only thing that sucks is I had the power turned on so I have to have the meter pulled to make the switch.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 01:53 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,898
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Only thing that sucks is I had the power turned on so I have to have the meter pulled to make the switch.
Don't know how it is in your area but we pull meters all the time to do service changes or modifications.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 02:43 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


I will most likely pull it and then contact them and they just add a new seal. This meter socket is only about 12 years old and was just pulled to turn the power on so not much worry. I do worry when pulling those really old meters though.

Had to pull one to replace a main breaker in the middle of the night once. Safety shield and heavy rubber gloves with inserts and hope for the best.

Really hope I never have one fall apart on me.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 05:02 PM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,898
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
I will most likely pull it and then contact them and they just add a new seal. This meter socket is only about 12 years old and was just pulled to turn the power on so not much worry. I do worry when pulling those really old meters though.

Had to pull one to replace a main breaker in the middle of the night once. Safety shield and heavy rubber gloves with inserts and hope for the best.

Really hope I never have one fall apart on me.
Surely you know to shed the building load before pulling the meter.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 05:59 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Modify a breaker panel cover.


Yes I always make sure and double check with volt meter. Have had to turn off all breakers before when a main would not turned off.

Nothing plugged in there though so no draw.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 03-10-2012 at 06:03 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Square D panel cover dougie-r Electrical 0 04-12-2011 09:40 PM
New Breaker Panel Questions AvalonGirl Electrical 10 06-02-2010 10:20 AM
Hot water flate rate conversion to breaker panel curlycord Electrical 1 05-06-2009 07:24 PM
Portable breaker panel? minameismud Electrical 15 02-24-2008 12:57 PM
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 1 01-28-2004 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.