Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 09:04 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Share |
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
The POCO usually runs the direct burial all the way up the pole protected by a plastic channel.
Not here. POCO ends at weatherhead (which I'm not using in this case, but then I reckon they end at the meter).

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:07 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Here we don't worry about snow, so this may not work for you.
Meter base centered about eyeball, with a mast up the pole to connect to the poco lines.
A short nipple from the bottom of the meter base to the diso, then out of the disco under ground to the panel.
Snow can be a big deal here.

What about the wire? Do I need to feed 4 through there? SER OK, or is that to be used above ground only?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:08 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Moble Home Service


Ok, pictures won't work the way I want them to.

In order to come into the top of the meter you have to use a hub and a threaded connector.

The threaded connector could either be for conduit or SE cable.

The POCO will usually run individual wires down the pole protected by a plastic channel. They won't run SE cable. They won't run pipe/pvc. You could run pipe/pvc up the pole with a weather head and they can connect to that. That might be your cheapest option, but might look a little unsightly.

The POCO's other option would be to run their wires all the way down the pole into the ground then back up into the bottom of the meter. The problem with that is that you will have the disconnect directly below the meter and you won't have a way to install a chase for them to run their wires back up.

I think you are better off building some sort of mount other than the pole and either mount the meter and disco side by side or ask for a meter main combo.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 11:16 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Ok, pictures won't work the way I want them to.

In order to come into the top of the meter you have to use a hub and a threaded connector.

The threaded connector could either be for conduit or SE cable.

The POCO will usually run individual wires down the pole protected by a plastic channel. They won't run SE cable. They won't run pipe/pvc. You could run pipe/pvc up the pole with a weather head and they can connect to that. That might be your cheapest option, but might look a little unsightly.

The POCO's other option would be to run their wires all the way down the pole into the ground then back up into the bottom of the meter. The problem with that is that you will have the disconnect directly below the meter and you won't have a way to install a chase for them to run their wires back up.

I think you are better off building some sort of mount other than the pole and either mount the meter and disco side by side or ask for a meter main combo.
I think I see what you're seeing, k, thanks. I know what you mean by the plastic channel. Two followups:

POCO requires using their meter bases, and I'm not sure they'll go w/ a combo, but I could ask them, I guess.

Still, I would need to provide them a way to attach to the meter, correct?

EDIT: On the other hand, why couldn't they just run their wires directly to the top of the meter socket?

Last edited by sirsparksalot; 11-07-2012 at 11:21 PM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:29 PM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Moble Home Service


There is no connector for their wires that I know of. They will use three individual conductors, not conduit or cable. You will need to provide some sort of chase to protect the POCO's wires if they go underground. Your POCO will tell you what you need for that.

If you can live with the looks of it, I think I might go with a mast coming out the top of the meter socket with a weather head. Picture your typical overhead service. Keep in mind that you will need 2 ground rods for your main disco, and you will need two more at the house if the meter socket isn't attached to the house.

You could see if its legal to mount the socket on the house since you have to rerun the wire anyway. I will check my code book to see if the NEC says anything about that.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 11-07-2012 at 11:32 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 11:32 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


OK, I think I'll look into the weatherhead idea.

Now,

Do I need to run a 4th wire underground to the house? THHN? THWN? In pipe or direct burial?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:36 PM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Moble Home Service


Yes you will and I suggest you dig (carefully) directly next to the existing wires or you run the risk of failing due to the circuit conductors not being run together.

Since you already have URD installed, I would match that.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 11-07-2012 at 11:39 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 11:54 PM   #23
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
There is no connector for their wires that I know of. They will use three individual conductors, not conduit or cable. You will need to provide some sort of chase to protect the POCO's wires if they go underground. Your POCO will tell you what you need for that.

If you can live with the looks of it, I think I might go with a mast coming out the top of the meter socket with a weather head. Picture your typical overhead service. Keep in mind that you will need 2 ground rods for your main disco, and you will need two more at the house if the meter socket isn't attached to the house.

You could see if its legal to mount the socket on the house since you have to rerun the wire anyway. I will check my code book to see if the NEC says anything about that.
K_buz.,

Let you know it is not legit to mount the meter socket on the mobile home unless it have basement or fully perament set up then it can go up the house ( a instering part that the meter itself will NOT touch the perament Mobile Homes )

It will not say much in NEC but NESC or POCO regulations will mention that clear.

I am not sure that mention in Art 500 but I don't recall the excat number but I know it is in there somewhere in that part.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 11:57 PM   #24
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Moble Home Service


Thanks, I didn't see that, but in the back of my head I assumed that was the case. I will look more carefully tomorrow.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:41 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


I still don't know what kind of disco box I need at the pole. Should it be a switch? fused? unfused? a box with 6 breakers?

Help?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:46 PM   #26
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Moble Home Service


Your power company should have an approved equipment list of sockets and/or socket panel combinations.

The means of disconnect should be at the pole. Any panel downstream would be wired with 4 wires.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-08-2012)
Old 11-08-2012, 01:31 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 943
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I still don't know what kind of disco box I need at the pole. Should it be a switch? fused? unfused? a box with 6 breakers?

Help?
Ask if they will approve a meter main with feed through lugs, purchase it yourself, and have them install it.

zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to zappa For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-08-2012), sirsparksalot (11-08-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oh! 1st home! Closing in two weeks! 30 Pics! Firefighter3244 General DIY Discussions 29 07-02-2014 08:03 PM
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
Running power to small barn in VA from home service 350' ribertgropius Electrical 9 06-12-2010 02:18 AM
Cost to run electric service to home 500 feet away skinnersone Electrical 2 08-26-2007 04:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.