Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 07:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Share |
Default

Moble Home Service


I've got a mobile home that needs the meter base and a disconnect at the pole. Currently, the wires have been cut (by POCO, I guess), both at the top of the pole (Overhead service), and at the location where the last meter and disconnect were (I hope they're long enough to reach inside the Main Disco-forgot to check that).

What do I need as a Main Disconnect at the pole? MLO? Main Breaker? The panel inside the house has a 200a Main (Cutler Hammer), and will be the subpanel.

The wires going to the panel is underground and already run (3 #4 AL).

Here are some pics.






sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


Hmm, I meant 3 #4/0 wires to the panel in the Mobile Home

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:08 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Moble Home Service


capacity of 4/0 thhn in conduit is 205 amps, might be thwn which is 180

Last edited by tduncanlu1077; 11-07-2012 at 08:13 PM.
tduncanlu1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tduncanlu1077 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 08:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by tduncanlu1077 View Post
capacity of #4 thhn aluminum in conduit is 75 amps. if you want 200 amps that's a 3/0 copper thwn or thhn
Yeah, I meant 4/0 Aluminum, Sorry.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:16 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,947
Default

Moble Home Service


If the first disconnect is at the pole you need a 4 wire feed to the sub.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 08:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,936
Default

Moble Home Service


Not sure how it works there but here your going to need a permit. Our power company comes and puts in the meter base, but will not install the meter until it's all inspected.
My building inspector would not give you a C/O until you took care of that front step.
Needs a stoop or deck not a set of steps.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 08:23 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
If the first disconnect is at the pole you need a 4 wire feed to the sub.
that's right, is the pipe is full you may have to get copper or a larger size conduit to fit the #6 copper or #4 aluminum grounding conductor
tduncanlu1077 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tduncanlu1077 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 08:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Not sure how it works there but here your going to need a permit. Our power company comes and puts in the meter base, but will not install the meter until it's all inspected.
My building inspector would not give you a C/O until you took care of that front step.
Needs a stoop or deck not a set of steps.
Yes, the permit will be coming, and the POCO supplies the Meter Base, but I'm responsible to put in the disconnect and the base at the pole.

Now, if I need to run 4wire from the pole to the panel, I will, but I'm just trying to figure out what I'll need.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:40 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Moble Home Service


If you have to run a new underground, I would install a new place to mount the meter and disconnect. I don't see a good way to mount both to the pole to get the wires to run into the meter. I guess you could run a mast up out of the meter base with a weather head, then come out the bottom of the meter to the disconnect, but you are running the slight risk of snow build up on the disco.

Let me qualify this by saying that I haven't done much mobile home work, so someone else might have a better way to do it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 08:50 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I don't see a good way to mount both to the pole to get the wires to run into the meter.
What are you seeing that's a problem, k? Are there height requirements for the disconnect?

What I was planning on doing, was installing the meter at 5', then the disco below that.

I mean, in the 2nd pic, you can see the laterals going to the panel. I don't know if they're ran in conduit or not.

It looks as though the POCO is coming to the top of the pole and down to the meter. How would you "move", or install a "new pole" for just the meter and disco? Abandon that pole completely? POCO would then run to the new pole?

I don't really see a problem using the existing pole, but then I'm not a pro.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:51 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Needs a stoop or deck not a set of steps.
say who? What do you mean?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:54 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,936
Default

Moble Home Service


I would think those wires would need to be run in PVC where there againt that pole to protect them.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012), Speedy Petey (11-08-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 08:58 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Moble Home Service


This is a hard scenario to explain in words...I will try to draw up a quick picture to help explain the problem I am envisioning.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 08:59 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Moble Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
I would think those wires would need to be run in PVC where there againt that pole to protect them.
The POCO usually runs the direct burial all the way up the pole protected by a plastic channel.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Old 11-07-2012, 09:02 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,699
Default

Moble Home Service


Here we don't worry about snow, so this may not work for you.
Meter base centered about eyeball, with a mast up the pole to connect to the poco lines.
A short nipple from the bottom of the meter base to the diso, then out of the disco under ground to the panel.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (11-07-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oh! 1st home! Closing in two weeks! 30 Pics! Firefighter3244 General DIY Discussions 29 07-02-2014 08:03 PM
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 04:49 PM
Running power to small barn in VA from home service 350' ribertgropius Electrical 9 06-12-2010 02:18 AM
Cost to run electric service to home 500 feet away skinnersone Electrical 2 08-26-2007 04:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.