Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2013, 07:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mobile Home Service


Am I looking at the correct cable for running from Meter Base and Disco to panel inside the Mobile Home?

I'm thinking this requires 4 wires, but the listing implies only 3 wires 4/0-4/0-2/0 AL URD

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwire...8#.UT5mnzdVpTc

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:44 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Mobile Home Service


Where are you reading that that cable is listed for a mobile home service? It is NOT.
A mobile home requires a disconnect away from the unit and a 4-wire feeder service the structure.

It's all in Art. 550.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:47 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,920
Rewards Points: 2,236
Default

Mobile Home Service


I love this statement from the site!

Designed for problematic installations due to adjacent utility work, homeowner or voltage surge damage
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:58 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mobile Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Where are you reading that that cable is listed for a mobile home service? It is NOT.
A mobile home requires a disconnect away from the unit and a 4-wire feeder service the structure.

It's all in Art. 550.
sigh! thanks, Speedy.

OK, there is currently a meterbase and disco about 2-3' from the trailer. The trailer is going out, and a new trailer is going in.

I'm assuming that the existing disconnect and meter base is rated at 100 amps (I haven't looked inside the disco to see the breaker rating). I want to provide for 200 amp because this is the rating for the new panel.

I also don't want to reuse the existing SE conductors, even if they are rated for 200 amp; I don't know their current condition, and the new trailer is going to be set on concrete slab, so a bunch of construction is going to happen before I run the new service.

Now, what cable is it that I need if the above is not correct?

Last edited by sirsparksalot; 03-11-2013 at 11:55 PM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:21 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Mobile Home Service


Well, if the service is rated @ 100A then you'll need a complete service upgrade.

Typical cable from the disconnect to the house is 4/0,4/0,2/0,4
http://www.southwire.com/ProductCata...prodcatsheet15
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (03-11-2013)
Old 03-11-2013, 08:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mobile Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Well, if the service is rated @ 100A then you'll need a complete service upgrade.

Typical cable from the disconnect to the house is 4/0,4/0,2/0,4
http://www.southwire.com/ProductCata...prodcatsheet15
Speedy, thanks for the reply. I'm actually trying to find 4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 URD, but I don't see Home Depot as carrying this.

Also, is URD the same as USE?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 11:14 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Mobile Home Service


Buy 4/0 URD from the supply house and add a #2 USE conductor the same length. But you don't need wire that large for 100 amps unless you are upgrading everything to 200.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (03-12-2013)
Old 03-11-2013, 11:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mobile Home Service


Thanks, rrolleston. Is the following correct?

For the 4/0 URD:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2023163...8#.UT6pzDdVpTc

For the #2AL:
http://www.homedepot.com/p/t/2023046...8#.UT6o9TdVpTc

Last edited by sirsparksalot; 03-12-2013 at 12:07 AM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 12:27 AM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mobile Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post

Just want to give you a head up just becarefull with URD cable they gernally are not rated to go indoor at all unless they are dual rated like URD / RHW or simuair to that.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 12:35 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mobile Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Just want to give you a head up just becarefull with URD cable they gernally are not rated to go indoor at all unless they are dual rated like URD / RHW or simuair to that.

Merci,
Marc
Marc, thanks for the heads-up. This is going into a brand new mobile home, and there's supposed to be some type of conduit (ENT, maybe?) that the feeders will run in to the panel.

What would you recommend instead?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 12:52 AM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mobile Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Marc, thanks for the heads-up. This is going into a brand new mobile home, and there's supposed to be some type of conduit (ENT, maybe?) that the feeders will run in to the panel.

What would you recommend instead?
If my memory do work right the 200 amp panels typically use either 2 inch or 2.5 inch PVC conduit which it will be allready for you to guide the conductors thru.

And you may have to use the large junction box something like 12X12X4 or 12X12X6 will work for this purpose ( some case you may have central air that need to be outgoing from panel so this part will work very well due it will keep the conduit clean and keep most of the critters out.

The type of conductors I useally either XLPE alum conductors or THWN copper conductors.

But with alum conductors just be aware that the conductor will be automatically upsized to comperized with voltage drop issue.

But if you can get 200 amp rated Mobile feeder cable all by means use that.

That will be the first choice to use.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (03-12-2013)
Old 03-12-2013, 01:27 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mobile Home Service


Now, the question is: the new mobile home is going to be set on a concrete foundation, and my concern is how to actually run the service... well the plumbing too, but that's for another day.

Will I need to make sure they provide a crawlspace? I mean, I haven't been involved w/ a MH set on a permanent foundation before, so I'm particularly naive to this.

The existing home is coming out Wednesday, then the foundation I guess and the new home will come in. Wat can I expect on this?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:42 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mobile Home Service


Install an empty 2" PVC conduit from the new home's stub-down pipe -- under the foundation -- and then back up to your outside disconnect box.

THEN you can pull in appropriately sized THWN, XHHW or USE conductors to make the final connections.

IF you decide to use the URD or other similar cable assembly, you may be able to direct-bury it, BUT you will have to protect any exposed portion of that cable with PVC conduit down to 18" below grade.

Ensure that your outside disconnect box is rated for at least 200 Amp service, or else you will have to replace that as well.

PS: Type SE cable was never permitted to supply a mobile home. HOWEVER, if your new home is permanently mounted on a solid foundation, it may be possible to reclassify it as a "modular" home and then type SE-R cable may be used as a sub-feed (but not buried, even in conduit).
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 03-12-2013 at 07:44 AM. Reason: Added post-script
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (03-12-2013)
Old 03-12-2013, 10:33 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Mobile Home Service


4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 You will want 2-1/2" PVC schedule 80 wherever it's subject to damage. I a similar project when I updated the panel in my mobile home to 200 amps.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (03-12-2013)
Old 03-12-2013, 08:55 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mobile Home Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
PS: Type SE cable was never permitted to supply a mobile home. HOWEVER, if your new home is permanently mounted on a solid foundation, it may be possible to reclassify it as a "modular" home and then type SE-R cable may be used as a sub-feed (but not buried, even in conduit).
OK, let's talk about this. I got this opinion from a Master in my area that SER could be used, but I forgot to ask size questions.

He suggested, as others here have, to use 4/0 4/0 2/0 #2 URD (a.k.a XLP, USE, XHHW) through Sched 40 from the disconnect to inside the trailer, and then I could use SER from there to the stub down-pipe if the panel was quite a distance from where it enters. He suggested that the SER and URD could be spliced in a Carflex JBox then ran to the down-pipe.

Of course, if any of this sounds odd, I may have misunderstood, and I'm not able to reach him at this hour. So, if you could confirm, or adjust my thinking for me, I'd appreciate.

Summary of Work:

New 200A Disconnect
New 200A Meter Socket
Mobile home is going to be on concrete slab (Does there need to be access under thee trailer, per law?)

Attached is a drawing of what he gave me - yep, drew me a pic and I'm still clueless
EDIT: I had to resize the pic, sorry.
Attached Images
 


Last edited by sirsparksalot; 03-12-2013 at 09:01 PM.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on remodeling/renovating a prefab (mobile) home countrylifemom Remodeling 50 08-09-2014 07:56 AM
Need URGENT help with question regarding fixing electrical panel in home asledge Electrical 66 02-22-2013 05:49 PM
mobile home half electric outlets not working...please baby327nd Electrical 11 02-07-2013 11:51 PM
mobile home renovations dbales General DIY Discussions 3 02-05-2013 07:38 PM
Replacing end walls in mobile home. rrolleston Building & Construction 8 02-02-2013 04:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.