Mixing Of Wires Question - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 12:23 AM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mixing of Wires Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by fa_f3_20 View Post
Did you say it's all in conduit? If so, and the conduit is continuous to all of the boxes, and the boxes themselves are proof against water entry, it should be OK. Cable inside conduit is unorthodox, but I don't know of any rule against it, as long as the conduit isn't over-filled.

As long if this conduit is used outdoor then it have to be UF cable not the NM due the wet location and the condastion will build up inside the conduit that something you will have to think about it.

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:33 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mixing of Wires Question


Yes, it is all in conduit and all the joints have been cemented and also have weatherproof caulk around every joint. THe PVC conduit says 3/4" SCH 40 and so looks as though it has loads of room as only one 14/2 wire in it. Will condensation build up that much inside the conduit to cause a problem? Could I maybe drill a small hole at the lowest points of the conduit so if condensation does form it will be able to seep through small hole?

Advertisement

starrapido is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any electricians? Question about a DC switch. Switch is on ground wire(s). Deck Electrical 22 01-14-2012 05:21 PM
Question about connecting wires to the RTH2300 (honeywell) thermostat crap_at_diy HVAC 3 11-26-2011 11:50 PM
running wires / NEC question duhtroll Electrical 6 07-20-2011 04:22 PM
Running wires alongside or through ductwork j_sun Electrical 1 07-13-2011 12:11 PM
Simple (?) line/load question: 3 wires (2 black, 1 white) for 2 spots Local Dimwit Electrical 3 07-13-2011 11:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts