Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-08-2012, 12:03 AM   #1

Share |

Mixing of Wires Question

Hi,

I presently have a circuit that is connected to a 15A circuit breaker at main box. The wire on this circuit is 12-2, but then goes outside to a few GFCI's and outdoor lights and this wire is 14-2. Is that ok or should I be worried. I have tested all the GFI's and they are grounded and the trip works on them.

Thanks, I am not a skilled electrician just learning about DIY amd home improvement.

starrapido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 01:10 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician

Mixing of Wires Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrapido View Post
Hi,

I presently have a circuit that is connected to a 15A circuit breaker at main box. The wire on this circuit is 12-2, but then goes outside to a few GFCI's and outdoor lights and this wire is 14-2. Is that ok or should I be worried. I have tested all the GFI's and they are grounded and the trip works on them.

Thanks, I am not a skilled electrician just learning about DIY amd home improvement.
We always sized the circuit by the smallest conductor as you posted there so therefore you have 14-2 that is good for 15 amp circuits only but you also have 12-2 there as well that can be used either 15 or 20 amp circuit however as you have other conductor size you are restricted to the smaller conductors if there.

If you really want 20 amp circuit then you will have to run a new cable or conductors if in the conduit.

Merci,
Marc

Old 12-08-2012, 07:35 AM   #3
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO

Mixing of Wires Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post