Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2011, 03:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 150
Question

mixing wires


is it code to mix wiring in circuits?

bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 03:53 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,710
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

mixing wires


Are you asking about mixing different sizes of conductors on the same circuit?

It is allowed but many consider it a poor practice as changes could be made at a later date that could create a hazard should someone install a larger breaker than the smallest conductor can handle.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Leah Frances (02-21-2011)
Old 02-21-2011, 04:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 150
Default

mixing wires


yes different wire on the same circuit
bluebird5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 01:00 AM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

mixing wires


you can always over size your wire(for a given breaker size) but never under size your wiring. the smallest size wire determines the circuit size(and thus the breaker size)
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:41 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

mixing wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebird5 View Post
is it code to mix wiring in circuits?
Yes it is, but WHY would you need to?? Rarely is there a truly valid reason.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D 3 number 12 wires equal one number 8 wire? Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-26-2011 08:00 PM
if there are red white green and black wires coming out of your walls like everywhere cray331 Electrical 3 01-17-2011 12:56 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.