Mixing #12 And #14 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2007, 06:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mixing #12 and #14


Sorry if this has been asked A LOT but I'm new here. I have a 15A circuit I am adding 6 recessed lights to. I've tied into the juction box fed by #14 using #12 and ran #12 from there. This is what I had left from another room so that is why I used it. The dimmer switch is on #14 as well. Any trouble splitting #14 hot to dimmer, from dimmer back to #12 to feed the lights?
thanks

Advertisement

willy1094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 06:41 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mixing #12 and #14


Functionally no. It's not the best practice, but it won't hurt anything, assuming the breaker was/is still 15amp.

Advertisement

RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 04:32 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Mixing #12 and #14


Thanks for the reply. I know and understand what everyone is saying about how you shouldn't mix them one being cost and there being no real good reason to. I just wonder if it is really worth going out and paying for (costing more money) a new roll of 14 when you have more that enough to finish with 12. Or if you take and match it ripping out all the old 14 to make it all 12. I understand a professional is paid to do this and should do it right all the way down the line but often diy'ers are doing it in part for cost savings (and I really do enjoy doing this type of work myself) and don't want to make a project bigger than is has to be. Just my .02. I am worried about doing safe work so I ask as many knowlegeable people as I can.

Thanks again for the help and info and keep it comming!!! And yes it's on a 15A breaker and would NEVER use 14ga for 20A circuit.
willy1094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
some questions on masonry/cement/concrete (general q's) joeyboy Building & Construction 20 06-25-2007 09:53 PM
Mixing Mud helpless handyman Painting 6 04-04-2007 01:40 PM
I won't burn this luxury tool, right? KUIPORNG Remodeling 15 03-09-2007 04:11 PM
Mixing Hardwood, Carpet, and Laminate! reptilicus81 Flooring 3 11-25-2006 09:43 PM
Mixing hardwoods in diningroom and hallway... tgates Flooring 2 01-18-2006 08:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts