Missing Bonding Screw In Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 08:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


I have a slightly older Siemens panel, G2020B1100CU, and it is missing the green bonding screw that goes through the neutral lug into the panel. I plan to have this inspected. I know that I could just use a jumping strap to tie the neutrals to the panel, but not sure if the inspector will go for that.

In case you can't see from the photo, the two neutrals are strapped together and there is a separate ground bar that is connected to two ground rods.

I would like to just install a jumping strap from the ground bar to the neutral bar, or neutral bar to panel.

If I can't do that, does anyone know where I can get the bonding screw? I called Siemens tech support and they didn't have a part number and several local suppliers couldn't help either.

Thanks!
Justin

Note: I wrapped the neutral with white in between photos.
Attached Thumbnails
Missing bonding screw in panel-2013-04-09-16.01.36.jpg   Missing bonding screw in panel-2013-04-09-12.12.43.jpg  

Advertisement

justinae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:10 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Main panel or sub? 4 wire feed makes it appear to be a sub.

Advertisement

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Absolutely no reason to bond the neutral in this panel.
ren79eg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:33 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by ren79eg View Post
Absolutely no reason to bond the neutral in this panel.
And you know that how?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
electures (04-10-2013), mpoulton (04-09-2013), sirsparksalot (04-10-2013), Speedy Petey (04-09-2013), stickboy1375 (04-10-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 09:37 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by ren79eg View Post
Absolutely no reason to bond the neutral in this panel.
It would SEEM that way, but there is NO way to tell without more info from the OP.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (04-10-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 09:41 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Cletis said so.
ren79eg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Main panel or sub? 4 wire feed makes it appear to be a sub.
sorry. subpanel in detached garage
justinae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 09:45 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by ren79eg View Post
Absolutely no reason to bond the neutral in this panel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
And you know that how?
From the pic, it appears that there are 4 wires emerging from the conduit with the feeder wires in it.

The 4th conductor appears to go across to the left, where it probably terminates on the ground-bar kit on that side of the panel.

Looks like a sub-panel to me, and if this is the case, then the neutral should NOT be bonded to the enclosure.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
electures (04-10-2013), Speedy Petey (04-09-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 09:46 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by ren79eg View Post
Cletis said so.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (04-10-2013), jbfan (04-09-2013), ren79eg (04-09-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 09:46 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


No bonding is allowed. Grounding electrode needed under current codes for separate structure.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 10:52 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


I spoke with an electrician I've used before who said that current code for detached structures requires treating it just like it's a main service panel. The actual main panel has it's own ground rods. This sub panel is fed by 4 wires as was stated. I was told that I should disconnect the 4th ground wire from the ground bar and tape it off. Then bond the neutral and ground bars and connect to the ground rods. I've done all that (although the pics don't show the ground wire disconnected).
justinae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:00 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by justinae View Post
I spoke with an electrician I've used before who said that current code for detached structures requires treating it just like it's a main service panel. The actual main panel has it's own ground rods. This sub panel is fed by 4 wires as was stated. I was told that I should disconnect the 4th ground wire from the ground bar and tape it off. Then bond the neutral and ground bars and connect to the ground rods. I've done all that (although the pics don't show the ground wire disconnected).
Time for you to find another electrician!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
brric (04-09-2013), electures (04-10-2013), Jim Port (04-10-2013), mpoulton (04-10-2013), Speedy Petey (04-10-2013), stickboy1375 (04-10-2013)
Old 04-09-2013, 11:21 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Time for you to find another electrician!
I must be missing something then because I have used this electrician for many projects (this one is my own house) and he always passes inspection, always. He did say that this is the new code in Portland, OR and sometimes even the inspectors are confused by it.

Getting back to my original question, though, where could I get that bonding screw?
justinae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:28 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Are you feeding this from your main panel?

The code for years has been to run 4 conductors to sub panels.
If this is a detached building, then ground rods are required at the building also.
The grounds and neutrals are never boned at a subpanel, therefore, you do not need a bonding screw.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:39 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Missing bonding screw in panel


Yes, it's being fed from the main panel. Apparently there is some discussion amongst inspectors as to the best way to do it. I have an inspector coming tomorrow for the main panel, which is done, and will just ask him. I had hoped to have it all ready but it's not being inspected yet anyway.

I'll report back what he says.

Thanks.

Advertisement

justinae is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to justinae For This Useful Post:
jbfan (04-09-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FPE Panel change out. Main Breaber to Lug TJ14u Electrical 4 01-22-2013 11:54 PM
Sub Panel over 10g-2 Help Needed hamblinh Electrical 30 01-18-2013 08:46 PM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-21-2009 12:09 AM
Bonding Ground and Neutral matrix733 Electrical 11 11-28-2007 07:22 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 10:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts