Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 12:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Miscolored THHN Switch Loop Without Ground Conductor


Was helping a friend recently and he let me into a situation where a contractor had installed a 4x4 jbox to move a light switch from one wall to another, removed the old switch, and nutted the wires at the jbox. Because the contractor failed to show for several appointments, he fired him. This, he had no switch and no kitchen light.

At the jbox, he has two romex coming in. One leads upstream towards the panel, the other is coming from the light. Both 14-2. Another recep on this circuit has a two prong device that looks very old. And this is a 1940s house. I'm going to assume there's no ground continuity back to the panel as its the old woven Two wire NM at the breaker. Didn't wanna take his panel cover off if I didn't have to.

So on his own, he pulled two pieces of 14 gauge THHN down the wall to the new switch as a switch loop. The connections look fine to me, but I have three questions:

1- He couldn't get the conduit past the blocking. Is THHN without conduit in an uninsulated interior wall allowed?

2- He didn't pull a ground. Is this legal if the ground doesn't go back to the panel anyway?

3- He used red/black instead of black/black. Can it be remarked to meet code?

Northern California. Not sure if NEC 2005 or 2008 applies in his county. Ill help him pull some Romex with my cable bit and fish tape if it's unsafe.

__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Miscolored THHN Switch Loop Without Ground Conductor


1. No. The THHN wires may not pass into a gap of empty space or an unlined stud hole between where one piece of conduit leaves off and the next piece begins.

2. No, A ground wire (equipment grounding conductor) must be pulled to accompany the other wires. Exception, wires in approved metallic conduit with metal junction boxes to form a continuous path (a bonding) back to the panel for grounding purposes.

3. No remarking is needed. Red may be substituted freely for black, All colors besides green and white are for hot wires.

4. For the 2011 code and also for futureproofing, a (white) neutral also needs to be pulled.

5. It is against code to hang anything new off of a (grandfathered) circuit that does not meet code, for example a circuit that is not grounded.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-30-2012 at 05:59 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
Light switch - Taping into ground wire ok? SimpleJack Electrical 2 08-15-2011 07:04 AM
can switch work for two different outlets? jlmran Electrical 8 02-10-2011 12:31 PM
Help with 3 way switch loop wylde8 Electrical 7 12-17-2009 05:53 PM
Two ground wires for one switch, none for another? josquin Electrical 5 07-01-2007 02:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.