Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2008, 03:08 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Put it this way, I bought a rotary laser just to make sure the receptacles in big kitchens are EXACTLY the same.
Now that is extreme there Petey. But kind of an interesting idea. I'm due for a new gadget now that I am doing more residential. I'd be the talk of the county.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 03:34 PM   #17
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Now that is extreme there Petey. But kind of an interesting idea. I'm due for a new gadget now that I am doing more residential. I'd be the talk of the county.
more than one i've used a transit... you do what you have to do.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 03:54 PM   #18
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
.....you do what you have to do.
Yup. Especially when the architect specs the receptacles horizontal in a 4" stone backsplash, in a 300+ sq/ft kitchen, in an old farm house, where NOTHING is level.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 12:30 PM   #19
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,596
Rewards Points: 128
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Does the Canadian code have required receptacle spacing along a basement wall?
It does if it is finished space. Same as NEC 6/12 foot rules.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 05:53 PM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
It does if it is finished space. Same as NEC 6/12 foot rules.
I see, thanks. But OP didn't mention creating a finished space. Just installing receptacles.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 05:22 AM   #21
Beer Advocate
 
Taipans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
I see, thanks. But OP didn't mention creating a finished space. Just installing receptacles.
Its a finished space!
Taipans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 07:05 AM   #22
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


I use a laser level too for outlets. Working in old houses is a real sometimes.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 09:14 AM   #23
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Taipans View Post
Its a finished space!
OK. My mistake. I didn't see that in your post.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 09:18 AM   #24
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
I use a laser level too for outlets. Working in old houses is a real sometimes.
I do a lot of work in old houses too. I'm trying to understand what you guys do. If the floor runs downhill, you level your boxes with the earth instead of the floor? Doesn't that look funny having the boxes give the appearance of running up or down hill in relation to the floor? Just wondering.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 03:45 PM   #25
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
I do a lot of work in old houses too. I'm trying to understand what you guys do. If the floor runs downhill, you level your boxes with the earth instead of the floor? Doesn't that look funny having the boxes give the appearance of running up or down hill in relation to the floor? Just wondering.

one way i always do is get a bowling ball and let it roll where it goes then you know where is the low and high spots is.

once i get the high spot then i used the laser light to highlight it where it goes so it look level.

i did work on one house that room was pretty huge well, that 18X32 room and from that end to end it was pitched down 3 1/2 inches so the GC came up a soluation he shim along the way at the same time i laser it so we know where we will run it.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 06:01 PM   #26
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
one way i always do is get a bowling ball and let it roll where it goes then you know where is the low and high spots is.
Merci, Marc
Oh sure Marc, all us Wisconsin electricians use our bowling balls. Some old farm houses we have to be careful, the ball rolls so fast it will break the plaster. And scare the cows.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 08:17 PM   #27
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Oh sure Marc, all us Wisconsin electricians use our bowling balls. Some old farm houses we have to be careful, the ball rolls so fast it will break the plaster. And scare the cows.

Yeah.,, tell me about it LOL it did actally happend once after that i learn something along the way. NEVER spook the cows again..

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 10:06 PM   #28
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
I do a lot of work in old houses too. I'm trying to understand what you guys do. If the floor runs downhill, you level your boxes with the earth instead of the floor? Doesn't that look funny having the boxes give the appearance of running up or down hill in relation to the floor? Just wondering.
Most cabinet guys level the cabinets, so you dont have a choice in the matter on leveling the receptacles, anything else I will just measure off the existing floor.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 05:55 AM   #29
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Yeah.,, tell me about it LOL it did actally happend once after that i learn something along the way. NEVER spook the cows again..

Merci,Marc
But spooking the cows is half the fun!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Most cabinet guys level the cabinets, so you dont have a choice in the matter on leveling the receptacles, anything else I will just measure off the existing floor.
Exactly. When working with kitchens or bathrooms in an old house, it is better to level the outlets with the earth so they are even with countertops, vanities, etc.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 05:56 AM   #30
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Most cabinet guys level the cabinets, so you dont have a choice in the matter on leveling the receptacles, anything else I will just measure off the existing floor.
My point exactly. Kitchen installers have NO choice but to level ALL the cabinets. Use the floor for your box measurements in an old house and you'll look like the fool.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Minimum Deck height? sandyman720 Building & Construction 16 01-29-2008 11:12 PM
minimum window height mt232 Building & Construction 7 03-24-2007 01:10 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.