Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-29-2008, 09:14 AM   #1
Beer Advocate
 
Taipans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Is there a minimum outlet height for basements? I can't find anything code wise outside of distance apart?

Thanks

Taipans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 09:32 AM   #2
Crabby Bastard
 
terri_and_jj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Minimum outlet height?


i have never seen a height requirement specific to a basement. The common practice is to simply make them as high or higher than the ones in the rest of the house. Most codes deal with distance from each other, like you mentioned

terri_and_jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 09:40 AM   #3
Beer Advocate
 
Taipans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by terri_and_jj View Post
i have never seen a height requirement specific to a basement. The common practice is to simply make them as high or higher than the ones in the rest of the house. Most codes deal with distance from each other, like you mentioned
Thats what I was thinking. My father was dumbfounded when I told him I didnt see a code for height. So I wanted to double check with you guys! And I was going to copy the rest of the house anyways but just wanted to make sure there wasn't something I was missing!

Thanks
Taipans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 10:00 AM   #4
Crabby Bastard
 
terri_and_jj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Minimum outlet height?


it never hurts to set them higher than rest of the house,

i would go AT LEAST 18"
terri_and_jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 03:20 PM   #5
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Minimum outlet height?


16 Oz Stanley hammer off floor to bottom of box :}:}} seems to be the "norm" around here :}
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 03:23 PM   #6
Beer Advocate
 
Taipans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by skymaster View Post
16 Oz Stanley hammer off floor to bottom of box :}:}} seems to be the "norm" around here :}

I am a newb when it comes to construction and have no excelled to that level of skill yet... lol
Taipans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 05:05 PM   #7
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Minimum outlet height?


I generally use 14" from concrete base here
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:13 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by skymaster View Post
16 Oz Stanley hammer off floor to bottom of box :}:}} seems to be the "norm" around here :}
Well Norm don't work here.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:33 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,866
Rewards Points: 2,526
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Minimum outlet height?


The only height restriction if you put them too high you can't count them as part of the required receptacles along a a wall.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 06:38 PM   #10
Crabby Bastard
 
terri_and_jj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Minimum outlet height?


isn't the height that is too high like 6' or more?
terri_and_jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 09:36 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,866
Rewards Points: 2,526
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by terri_and_jj View Post
isn't the height that is too high like 6' or more?
Yes they must be below 5.5 feet. They can be in the floor if you wish as long as they are within 18 inches of the wall they can be counted as part of the required receptacles.

Last edited by joed; 02-29-2008 at 09:40 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 10:03 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by skymaster View Post
16 Oz Stanley hammer off floor to bottom of box :}:}} seems to be the "norm" around here :}
Most of the houses I do end up in the baseboard... go figure.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 10:38 PM   #13
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Speedy; ya sound a tad cranky LOL LOL I will have Norm send his "special Estwing outlet height measuring device" sent to ya :}:}:}:}
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 06:51 AM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Well Sky if you knew me you'd know I was always either cranky or cantankerous. I've been banned from worse boards than this for such an immoral attitude.

I just laugh when in today's world guy are still using "hammer height". Either you work alone, or buy all your guys all the same hammer, or just don't care if all the receptacles are exactly the same.

Put it this way, I bought a rotary laser just to make sure the receptacles in big kitchens are EXACTLY the same.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 03:05 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Minimum outlet height?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The only height restriction if you put them too high you can't count them as part of the required receptacles along a a wall.
Does the Canadian code have required receptacle spacing along a basement wall?

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Minimum Deck height? sandyman720 Building & Construction 16 01-29-2008 11:12 PM
minimum window height mt232 Building & Construction 7 03-24-2007 01:10 AM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.