Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2011, 10:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Minimum amperage


I need to know the minimum service amperage required by law for a home. I am thinking of building an off the grid home and need to know minimum requirements for solar and wind incorporation.

PJB54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 10:39 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,583
Default

Minimum amperage


The NEC requires a minimum service size of 100 amps for a dwelling.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
PJB54 (08-29-2011)
Old 08-17-2011, 11:06 AM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,126
Default

Minimum amperage


http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?...edits.tx_index
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
PJB54 (08-29-2011)
Old 08-17-2011, 12:43 PM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

Minimum amperage


An off-grid project will play by different rules. You will generally not be required to comply with minimum service ampacity or load calculation rules. Sometimes this requires officially requesting a variance from the building department, other times it's a completely informal process. Regardless, you won't be delivering 100A service on a solar system.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
PJB54 (08-29-2011)
Old 08-17-2011, 01:58 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,540
Default

Minimum amperage


Most insurance companies will not insure a house with less than 100 amp service.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 08-17-2011 at 05:05 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
PJB54 (08-29-2011)
Old 08-17-2011, 04:14 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Minimum amperage


You may want to consider making it code compliant just in case at some point it has to go on the grid.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
PJB54 (08-29-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
meter vs. sum of circuit amperage amakarevic Electrical 5 07-13-2011 04:56 PM
concrete block detached building, minimum space between openings rich624 Building & Construction 2 11-22-2010 07:48 PM
Dual Pole Breaker Amperage Question jcwilshire Electrical 2 11-22-2010 12:45 PM
How do panels get their amperage rating? Randell Tarin Electrical 14 01-23-2008 06:10 PM
Minimum Insulation Requirements? sandyman720 Building & Construction 4 08-19-2007 09:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.