Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2014, 04:00 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Share |
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


i also have a 120v unit, indoor part is at 32v!

carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 12:57 PM   #32
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmusic View Post
i also have a 120v unit, indoor part is at 32v!
And what is your point? You still have to follow the NEC.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:07 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 115
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


No matter what the schematic that you came up with says , many / most of ours are low voltage between the inside & outside unit . Same as tstat wiring between a furnace and a tstat .

I do not know what is SOP in your location , tstat cable is run " wild " here . And , evidently , other places , too ?

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:10 PM   #34
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


Quote:
Originally Posted by WyrTwister
No matter what the schematic that you came up with says , many / most of ours are low voltage between the inside & outside unit . Same as tstat wiring between a furnace and a tstat . I do not know what is SOP in your location , tstat cable is run " wild " here . And , evidently , other places , too ? God bless Wyr
I'm betting they are not low voltage, I'm betting you are mis reading the schematic, and by the looks of your unit, you are mis informed.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 03-22-2014 at 06:12 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 08:49 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 115
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


Well , I got off the sofa and my lazy behind . Went out to the truck and got my Fluke & a screwdriver . Got up on a chair & proceeded to check the voltage , at the terminal strip , where the interconnecting plenum cable is terminated at the inside unit .

Different terminals yielded different voltage between them . The first 2 are probably the low voltage " power " I got 29 - 32 volts . Did not bother to notice if it was AC or DC , I did not really care . The other readings were less than that to zero .

We use that particular plenum cable , 2 pair T/S cable for energy management . Brought about 25' from work . Seems to work fine .

There is nothing more that I can think to add ?

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 09:36 PM   #36
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


Quote:
Originally Posted by WyrTwister
Well , I got off the sofa and my lazy behind . Went out to the truck and got my Fluke & a screwdriver . Got up on a chair & proceeded to check the voltage , at the terminal strip , where the interconnecting plenum cable is terminated at the inside unit . Different terminals yielded different voltage between them . The first 2 are probably the low voltage " power " I got 29 - 32 volts . Did not bother to notice if it was AC or DC , I did not really care . The other readings were less than that to zero . We use that particular plenum cable , 2 pair T/S cable for energy management . Brought about 25' from work . Seems to work fine . There is nothing more that I can think to add ? God bless Wyr
And? What's your point?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 04:17 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 115
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


Mine is low voltage . Many / most of these units are . "

Low voltage " cable is fine . ( Although , I think the cable I used is rated for 300 volts ? )

My 120 VAC is run in Romex . Where it exits the vertical " cover " , it is inside LiquidTite flex . To the pull no-fuse disconnect and from there to the condenser .

As is the plenum cable , in a separate flex .

Have a fine day .

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 05:29 AM   #38
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,029
Default

Mini Split AC Hook Up


Quote:
Originally Posted by WyrTwister View Post
Mine is low voltage . Many / most of these units are . "

Low voltage " cable is fine . ( Although , I think the cable I used is rated for 300 volts ? )

My 120 VAC is run in Romex . Where it exits the vertical " cover " , it is inside LiquidTite flex . To the pull no-fuse disconnect and from there to the condenser .

As is the plenum cable , in a separate flex .

Have a fine day .

God bless
Wyr
NMB in Sealtite in a wet or damp location is non compliant.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini split AC 120 or 240 - lsu181hsv model amb1s1 Electrical 5 08-06-2013 05:01 AM
Mini split vs. duct-based systems - venting? sheslostcontrol HVAC 2 05-03-2013 03:20 PM
Mini split in basement? Mills314 HVAC 1 07-04-2011 09:36 AM
mini split BTU question... newbieowner HVAC 13 05-31-2011 09:57 PM
Installing a mini split ductless system agenkin HVAC 1 06-14-2008 09:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.