Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2011, 09:24 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Share |
Default

Mid-circuit problem


There is no GFCI in the bathroom, sorry, I should have noted that much earlier. Yes, no grounds, no GFCI, no joke.

I'll unwrap and rewrap everything and see if I can get this figured out. The fact that I get 120v in the ceiling box but the light wasn't working has me optimistic. I'd really like to know if that randomly ended wire in the attic is just a 3' run from the light and can be removed.

With no grounds going back the box what am would I be bonding it to? The box itself?

moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:50 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Mid-circuit problem


Bonding the equipment to the junction box will do nothing unless the junction box is also bonded back to the panel. Your original post said this was an 'old part of the house'. Does this mean you have a gronding system in other parts of the house? Or even in the panel?

Others more knowledgeable than me will need to chime in, but I believe you can solve some absent grounding/bonding issues with GFCI devices strategically placed in the needed circuits. But, if the entire system is not grounded per current code then there may be more work involved.

This bonding discussion has nothing to do with your original problem.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:04 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Mid-circuit problem


In the photo...what is the long black & white conductor with damaged insulation?????

Last edited by jlmran; 01-19-2011 at 06:08 AM.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 07:13 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Default

Mid-circuit problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
original post said this was an 'old part of the house'. Does this mean you have a gronding system in other parts of the house? Or even in the panel?
Yes, I refinished the kitchen and entire second floor, all with new wiring to a new panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
I believe you can solve some absent grounding/bonding issues with GFCI devices strategically placed in the needed circuits.
I planned on adding a GFCI at R1 and in the bathroom.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
In the photo...what is the long black & white conductor with damaged insulation?????
That is the return hot from the light switch loop. I don't think it is burned, I believe that is residue from the incredible amount of 60yr old tape I removed but I will double check.

I woke up this morning with a new sense of "duh" so I turned the breaker back on, left the light switch wires disconnected and checked the rest of the circuit. Sure enough, everything works again. Honestly I didn't touch a thing other than disconnecting the stranded wires of the light fixture so I'm somewhat , but at the same time quite . I'm going to rewrap everything in there, add the two GFCI's, and hopefully we're good-to-go.

THANKS FOR EVERYONE'S HELP!!!!
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 09:08 AM   #20
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

Mid-circuit problem


Use wire nuts. No tape needed.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 09:27 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 465
Default

Mid-circuit problem


They make a nut for 4 12's?
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 10:19 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

Mid-circuit problem


Yes...read the instructions on a package of wire nuts for guidance.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 11:23 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 33
Default

Mid-circuit problem


I'm not sure what your local rules are but in a 2 wire system with no ground- we install a gfi at the first rec and wire to the load side on the outgoing wires, this protects everything after the plug. if it feeds a light first you could install a gfi near the panel.

You could replace all breakers with gfi (5ma)breakers (expensive).

I have used gfi's that are dead front, they look like a receptacle but they are blanked off, just buttons, no actual spot to plug into.

dhubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dishwasher circuit tripping magnolia Electrical 5 10-29-2010 09:59 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 09:07 AM
Trane XE 80 Problem Espy HVAC 2 11-18-2008 05:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.