Microwave Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 07:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Microwave wiring


Doing a kitchen remodel where I have to move the microwave to another wall. The outlets are wired with #12 on a 20A breaker.

Here is my dilemma. Can I run a #14 from from the microwave to one the #12 outlets to run the microwave?

Fridge and stove are on a separate circuit so the only thing on this 20A is the kitchen receptacles and lights.

Thank you in advance and Merry Christmas!

Advertisement

sqzdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 332
Default

Microwave wiring


If its not a permanent installed microwave(requiring dedicated circuit),and is counter top keep the 12 on it .

Advertisement


Last edited by hidden1; 12-23-2012 at 08:18 PM.
hidden1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,255
Rewards Points: 524
Default

Microwave wiring


No. You can not use 14 gage wire on a 20 amp circuit.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to danpik For This Useful Post:
Gac66610 (12-23-2012)
Old 12-23-2012, 07:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Microwave wiring


The #14 would be branched off of one of the #12 outlets and will only power the permanently mounted microwave. Here are the specs for the microwave:

Product rated at 120v, 60 hertz, 15 amps and 1.70 kw. The power supply cord should be connected to a separate 15 to 20 ampre branch circuit single grounded outlet.
sqzdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:48 PM   #5
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Microwave wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by sqzdog View Post
The #14 would be branched off of one of the #12 outlets and will only power the permanently mounted microwave. Here are the specs for the microwave:

Product rated at 120v, 60 hertz, 15 amps and 1.70 kw. The power supply cord should be connected to a separate 15 to 20 ampre branch circuit single grounded outlet.
You need a dedicated circuit for this appliance.

Do not run #14 on a 20a circuit
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
sqzdog (12-23-2012)
Old 12-23-2012, 08:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 332
Default

Microwave wiring


Since permanent then you must have a dedicated 20 amp circuit 12G.NEC code section 210.52
hidden1 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hidden1 For This Useful Post:
sqzdog (12-23-2012)
Old 12-23-2012, 11:03 PM   #7
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,642
Rewards Points: 1,078
Default

Microwave wiring


Either a 15 or 20 amp circuit is code compliant. It needs to be a single receptacle, and the amp rating of the receptacle must match the amp rating of the breaker supplying it.

If it's a 15 amp breaker, #14 will be ok. If it's a 20, you'll need #12.

The only places that you can use #14 on a 20 amp circuit is a motor, welder, or HVAC unit.

Rob

Last edited by micromind; 12-23-2012 at 11:08 PM. Reason: Can't spell worth beans......
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
Old 12-24-2012, 01:24 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Microwave wiring


Thank you Rob. Will rewire to a dedicated circuit over the holidays.
sqzdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 07:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 318
Rewards Points: 332
Default

Microwave wiring


If permanent microwave has the vent/fan light attatchment id surely go with the 20 amp/ 12G.(many manufactures recommend it anyway )
hidden1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 08:43 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Microwave wiring


Could I reduce the breaker to a 15A temporarily until I can run a #12 wire?
sqzdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 09:00 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,385
Rewards Points: 3,564
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Microwave wiring


That would be safe.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
micromind (12-24-2012)
Old 12-26-2012, 01:21 PM   #12
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

Microwave wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jasson View Post
I think you cant run a #14 from the microwave to one the #12 outlets to run the microwave You should consult your user guide book to avoid experiments and loss.
It's kind of hacky, but there's no reason he can't. It's code compliant and safe as long as the breaker is 15A. It doesn't even violate the manufacturer's instructions, since they say the microwave "should" be connected to a dedicated circuit, not that it "must". It's just a recommendation.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
sqzdog (12-26-2012), TTW (12-26-2012)
Old 12-26-2012, 01:46 PM   #13
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Microwave wiring


If there is #14 wire anywhere in the circuit, you must use a 15 amp breaker. Not recommended, but done. Also at the panel, the wire should be marked 15 amp only.
__________________
#1 - If you don't know what you're doing - get a licensed electrician!
#2 - If you follow my advice and something bad happens see # 1
Electricity bites hard, and it could be the last thing you feel... Good Luck!
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 01:47 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Microwave wiring


Thanks. This will only be temporary. Maybe for 1 week. Just didn't want to burn the house down in the meantime if I fire up the microwave.

Advertisement

sqzdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
over-the-range microwave problem aumanpj Appliances 6 12-04-2010 06:46 PM
Microwave fan motor wiring (for diy project) majstersztyk Electrical 0 12-01-2010 10:56 AM
HELP. I really need some advice on how to remove an over the range microwave! justmeee Appliances 9 12-24-2009 04:47 AM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 03:40 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts