Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2007, 10:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Microwave


I have a question about connecting an under the cabinet microwave.

The house has 3 conductor wiring built in the 60s. The was an old range hood with fan and a light there previously that has been removed. The power for that was coming from a ceiling light.
When I install the micorwave will I need a dedicated outlet just for it or can I use the feed for the old range hood? My concern is that the amps that the microwave needs will dim or blink the over head light if it is on the same circuit. When the old range hood and light were turned on they had no effect on the overhead light.
Has anyone done this before?

williamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 12:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Microwave


I did it in my last house. I ran a new circuit, because the old hood was on the same circuit as the refrigerator!

Chances are, with today's microwaves, it will dim or blink the light. today's microwaves are generally over 1000W... 1000W/110v = 9.1 amps. If it is a lighting circuit with a 15a breaker, that's 60% of your circuit load right there.

I will defer to the contractors who post here with code sections, as to whether a microwave MUST be on a separate circuit.

You will also need a receptacle for the microwave that is within reach, to allow you to unplug the microwave. Typically this receptacle is in the cabinet above the microwave (that the microwave is suspended from). You can't just chop off the microwave plug and hard-wire it.

pjpjpjpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:32 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Microwave


If the microwave is more than 900 watts, it cannot be on a 15 amp circuit with other loads such as lights (NEC 210.23(A)(2))
If equipment is fastened in place, it cannot excede 50% of circuit where other loads are served.

It would be best in any case for this to be on its own circuit.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 09:36 PM   #4
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
It would be best in any case for this to be on its own circuit.
I thought built-in's had to be on their own circuit anyway
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 10:00 PM   #5
remodeling pro
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,399
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by hbsparky View Post
I thought built-in's had to be on their own circuit anyway
If by "under the cabinet" he is referring to an over the range vent/micro combo it is considered a permanently mounted appliance and does require a dedicated circuit. But even if it is a counter top model, I agree that todays 1000 plus watt units have no business on an existing lighting circuit.
troubleseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 10:56 AM   #6
So Cal Electrician
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South OC, Cali
Posts: 88
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via Yahoo to hbsparky
Default

Microwave


I totally agree. with the current today's appliances pull, I wouldn't suggest any appliance on a lighting circuit, if it is a newer house, it won't be on the lights anyway, legally that is
__________________
Well....Butter my butt and call me a biscuit!
hbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 04:20 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by hbsparky View Post
I thought built-in's had to be on their own circuit anyway
Not required by code... unless the instructions tell you too!

edit to add : A good idea to do so anyway. I always do.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 04:23 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Microwave


Quote:
Originally Posted by troubleseeker View Post
If by "under the cabinet" he is referring to an over the range vent/micro combo it is considered a permanently mounted appliance and does require a dedicated circuit..
Code reference please? (besides 110.3(B))

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range hood and microwave shelf install??? osueric27 HVAC 2 01-05-2009 12:01 AM
Microwave turning on Central Air!!? Sean F HVAC 7 06-21-2007 08:15 AM
Microwave turning on Central Air!!? Sean F Appliances 1 05-23-2007 10:44 AM
Steam causing microwave door to "peel"? K1NJO General DIY Discussions 5 05-15-2007 10:59 AM
Burnt Smell in Microwave brdagg General DIY Discussions 4 04-09-2007 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.