Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2012, 02:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Share |
Default

Micro Wave Oven blowing circuit fuse


Ontario House built 1960.
Micro Oven & Frig, connected to same recepticle. (20 Years.)
Three years ago Old M/oven began blowing its internal fuse on a regular basis.
Bought new M/Oven..... Worked well for three years.

Now this has begun to blow its house fuse. (Even when no other load ls on circuit)

Oven works OK in another recepticle.

I've checked wiring in four recepticles that comprise this line. contact screws are tight.

A side issue is that, all the boxs that I checked are 3/4'' back from the wall surface, & the electric wires in every box were cut very short.
Any ideas welcome. Ken

jankencanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 02:17 PM   #2
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Default

Micro Wave Oven blowing circuit fuse


if the MW and fridge are on the same circuit, the fridge wuld still be a load on the circuit, right?

I'd probably run a circuit for just the M/W. I'm sure we'll get someone wh can confirm, but I believe that's code. I know in my local community, we'd have to change it to its own circuit, 20 year old wiring or not.

bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bbo For This Useful Post:
jankencanada (12-21-2012)
Old 12-20-2012, 05:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,305
Default

Micro Wave Oven blowing circuit fuse


Microwaves do use a lot of power !
At least 1000w or there abouts !
What else is on that circuit ?
Could just be the load on that circuit
has been slowly increasing.
We add this and then that and think
nothing of it.
It all adds up.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
jankencanada (12-21-2012)
Old 12-21-2012, 05:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,212
Default

Micro Wave Oven blowing circuit fuse


Piece of mind just run a new line and circuit for the micro wave direct.
See what happens. If it's the microwave you'll know it replace it.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
jankencanada (12-21-2012)
Old 12-23-2012, 12:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 44
Default

Micro Wave Oven blowing circuit fuse


My thanks to the few folks that replied.
I never did solve this mystery,after spending a lot of time at it.
With Xmas very close. I ran the flexable Mirowave cord through a hollow section of counter -top to a second out- let.
jankencanada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:47 PM   #6
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,755
Default

Micro Wave Oven blowing circuit fuse


Glad you found a work around.....

A lot has changed the past 10-15 years when it comes to kitchens.....and when you consider that it's the most common source of house fires....it's worth upgrading.

Todays kitchens have a lot of high power devices....Our microwave pulls up to 1500W. The electric water kettle....1100w. Add up all the other misc items....disposal...dish washer (with eletric heating)...fridge....wine cooler....toaster....

By 1960's and earlier standards, kitchens are under powered.....and that is not taking into consideration an electric oven or stove top....

I upgraded my kitchen with 4 new circuits in 2000....and I'm about to do it again.....

Fridge - Own 20A ckt so I don't have to worry about something tripping it's breaker
Microwave - 20A
Disposal and Dishwasher - 20A
Stop top (gas) and vent hood - 20A
Counter Tops - (2) 20A GFIC ckts
Oven - 30A 240Vac

And that is just the kitchen.....

We are putting in a Pub....and it will have 2 20a ckts....wine cooler and power for a toaster oven/blender (nothing like margarita's with pizza bits....)

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
jankencanada (12-23-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ac keeps blowing the 5 amp fuse dlastra HVAC 21 05-07-2012 05:22 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
I keep blowing a circuit nirrah Electrical 10 07-22-2008 07:38 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
HELP!!! Info on changing old fuse box to circuit breaker box BryanR Electrical 2 03-12-2006 04:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.