Metric. Yes Or No? Explain Your Answer. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-29-2008, 08:31 AM   #1
Once fried, twice shy.

Rewards Points: 250

Metric. Yes or no? Explain your answer.

In the electrical world, there are kilovolts, millivolts, microfarads etc. All of these units are very simply multiples or divisions of 10, 100, 1 000 etc. Of course, there is "scientific notation", which greatly simplifies the "powers" of numbers. How about the decimal. Fractions are now rarely used & are cumbersome to add, subtract, multiply or divide. As an engineer, I've had some difficulty dealing with American units (that have not been converted to the Metric system). For example, US gallons is a very old measurement. I believe that it was adopted from the British but afterwards, the British changed this measurement to Imperial gallons.

Anyway, Australia has been Metric for over 30 years. Actually, my grandmother who is now 85 years old, was instrumental in assisting with the slow transition from the difficult Imperial system to the simple Metric system. Her job was to make sure that retailers in our area, had changed their measuring equipment within a fixed period of time (about 2 years). Even at 85, she is fully conversant with both systems but she prefers Metric. Why? It's a thousand times easier than the old system.

Even though I grew up learning both systems, I can honestly say that the Metric system is by far the easiest to use.

What do you think?

http://lamar.colostate.edu/~hillger/internat.htm

http://www.ukma.org.uk/why/myths.htm

http://www.ukma.org.uk/why/myths.htm#cost

http://www.ukma.org.uk/why/myths.htm#usa

Advertisement

Old 03-29-2008, 09:33 AM   #2
ICF Construction