Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2011, 12:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

meter vs. sum of circuit amperage


i was curious if the sum of all circuits' amperage has to be less or equal to what the meter brings in OR, as i would consider it to be realistic, each circuit can be assigned reasonable concurrent usage percentage, with which its amperage can be weighed to arrive to the sum.

e.g. if my subpanel has 50A, can i have 2 20s and a 15 circuit (total 55) considering that it is highly unlikely that at any given time every circuit would be maxed out?

thanks

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 12:28 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 767
Rewards Points: 502
Default

meter vs. sum of circuit amperage


Yes. The total of the circuit breaker ratings is basically meaningless. I have a 100A service here with over 300A worth of breakers installed. The important thing is the actual calculated load. Consider that most of the time the load on a 20A receptacle circuit might only be 0-5A, with nothing, or just a few small things, plugged in.

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to McSteve For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-13-2011)
Old 07-13-2011, 12:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

meter vs. sum of circuit amperage


exactly what i thought. thanks for the clarification.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 02:11 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,832
Rewards Points: 2,458
Blog Entries: 4
Default

meter vs. sum of circuit amperage


The sum af all the circuits amperage(the actual amps being used) has to be less than the main.
The sum of all the breakers means nothing since many have no actual amps going through them at any one time. And none of them will have full load marked on the breaker going through them.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-13-2011)
Old 07-13-2011, 03:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,283
Rewards Points: 1,014
Default

meter vs. sum of circuit amperage


thanks but my question was referring to the breaker amperage.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 04:56 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

meter vs. sum of circuit amperage


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
thanks but my question was referring to the breaker amperage.
The branch circuit breakers do not have to add up to be equal or less than the disconnect breaker. The breaker in the panel that feeds this panel has a breaker that is sized to the wire gauge that feeds this sub panel. The breaker in the sub is typically the same size but doesn't have to be.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to a7ecorsair For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (07-13-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What kind of meter can test amperage draw? jayp Electrical 6 05-02-2011 06:39 PM
New service Help (Meter can/ service mast Conduit help) cwolford Electrical 13 03-26-2011 07:55 PM
Possible Defective or Incorrect Electrical Meter? MorganB Electrical 10 01-18-2011 09:51 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 08:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.