Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2013, 02:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Share |
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Hi. I finally got around to opening up my meter pan that is servicing the existing 100amp panel that I am upgrading to a 200 amp panel.

It seems to me that the meter and pan are rated for 200amps (see pics). Am I correct?

If the pan is already rated for 200amps and I don't need to switch it then do most people (electricians) simply pull the meter and run new/heavier wire from the pan to the new service panel while the power is on or should I pay the $214 and have the electric company do a disconnect at the pole since this is an underground feed?

Thanks!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?-2013-04-08-14.17.53.jpg   Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?-2013-04-08-14.19.42.jpg   Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?-2013-04-08-14.20.21.jpg  

CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 02:47 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,749
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Yep, that is a 200 amp rated meter.
depending on how the meter to panel is wired, if should be fairly easy to replace the feed to the panel.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Yep, that is a 200 amp rated meter.
depending on how the meter to panel is wired, if should be fairly easy to replace the feed to the panel.
OK - thanks. Do I need a special tool to pull a meter or do they vary in how they are "plugged in"?
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:07 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,749
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CapeCod153 View Post
OK - thanks. Do I need a special tool to pull a meter or do they vary in how they are "plugged in"?
Depending on your local, pulling the meter could be an unlawful act.

The meter just unplugs, and I don't really recommend it.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (04-11-2013), Jim Port (04-11-2013), Speedy Petey (04-11-2013)
Old 04-11-2013, 03:13 PM   #5
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


You shouldnt really do it unless you have been trained and done it before, but if you do, you have to pull or i usually do, pull the line side out first to prevent any arcing and make sure the main breaker is off
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Depending on your local, pulling the meter could be an unlawful act.

The meter just unplugs, and I don't really recommend it.
Do you recommend not unplugging it for safety or legally?

I am the homeowner doing my own electrical work (with a permit). When I spoke to the electric company they said I need to sign a waiver stating such but they only need to get involved if I need to disconnect the power or switch the meter. But I can confirm that with them again when I obtain the waiver. they also said I will need to submit proof of inspection, but that is usually with the disconnect.
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by eastcoastsparky View Post
You shouldnt really do it unless you have been trained and done it before, but if you do, you have to pull or i usually do, pull the line side out first to prevent any arcing and make sure the main breaker is off
Once I pull the meter, doesn't that cut the power from the meter to the service panel?

It might be best if I simply pay to have the electric company disconnect the power. I was going to pay an electrician to do this anyway.
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:18 PM   #8
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CapeCod153

Once I pull the meter, doesn't that cut the power from the meter to the service panel?

It might be best if I simply pay to have the electric company disconnect the power. I was going to pay an electrician to do this anyway.
Yes it cuts power to your panel but the incoming feeds are still hot, and since youll be working around in there i recommend just paying for the disconnect for safety reasons
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 42
Smile

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Contact a professional!



Last edited by beenthere; 04-11-2013 at 03:32 PM. Reason: Removed company name and links.
bugmenot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by eastcoastsparky View Post
Yes it cuts power to your panel but the incoming feeds are still hot, and since youll be working around in there i recommend just paying for the disconnect for safety reasons
Yeah, that would ruin my day if I bumped the wrong thing! thanks
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:25 PM   #11
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CapeCod153

Yeah, that would ruin my day if I bumped the wrong thing! thanks
Ha!! It will definetly do more than ruin your day
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Contact a professional!




Not sure what area you are from (guess Montreal) but due to superstorm Sandy I can't find any electricians in my area willing to take on such a small job right now. So I will pay to have it disconnected and I think I should be able to figure out the rest - good thing I have a generator as it will probably just take me 10x as long!

Last edited by TheEplumber; 04-11-2013 at 05:39 PM. Reason: remove links
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:38 PM   #13
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CapeCod153

Not sure what area you are from (guess Montreal) but due to superstorm Sandy I can't find any electricians in my area willing to take on such a small job right now. So I will pay to have it disconnected and I think I should be able to figure out the rest - good thing I have a generator as it will probably just take me 10x as long!
Im in pennsauken, nj. I would like to help you but ive been busy lately. Private message me if you have any questions
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to eastcoastsparky For This Useful Post:
CapeCod153 (04-11-2013)
Old 04-11-2013, 03:42 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Also plan on not getting power back till you have passed inspection and the inspector has called it in.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:52 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

Meter and open meter pan pictures - 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by eastcoastsparky View Post
Im in pennsauken, nj. I would like to help you but ive been busy lately. Private message me if you have any questions
Thanks, I appreciate that.

CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Meter and Irrigation Control segal Plumbing 1 10-07-2012 06:45 AM
What size wire for 150ft run from meter fitchetm Electrical 14 09-22-2012 06:20 AM
Rigid to meter connection and bonding? iminaquagmire Electrical 2 11-11-2011 10:18 AM
320Amp double lug meter - (2) 200amp panels 1texasguy Electrical 31 07-15-2011 10:47 AM
New clamp meter question Chevyman30571 Electrical 18 02-21-2010 11:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.