Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2008, 06:55 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Share |
Default

meter jumper necessary?


is it necessary to have a water meter jumper, or can i just attach the wire to the street side of the water line?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 06:59 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,676
Default

meter jumper necessary?


A removable water meter must be jumpered around.

For reference:
250.53(D)
(1) Continuity
Continuity of the grounding path or the
bonding connection to interior piping shall not rely on water
meters or filtering devices and similar equipment.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 07:15 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

meter jumper necessary?


its cpv in the house. so i ran the wire all the way from the electrical box to the street side of the water line. so this is no good?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 08:06 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,676
Default

meter jumper necessary?


Metallic piping systems must be bonded. If there is only a small amount of copper, if at all, after the meter then you are fine.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

meter jumper necessary?


yes there is only about six inches of copper after the meter. but like i said, the wire goes from the box all the way to other side of the meter. the street side. so no jumping is ok then?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:32 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

meter jumper necessary?


Yep thats fine... had you connected to the house side of the meter the jumper would be required.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:09 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

meter jumper necessary?


Name:  250.68(B).jpg
Views: 87
Size:  71.1 KB..............
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

meter jumper necessary?


what will the city inspector say. should i attach the ground wire to six inches of copper i have on the house side of the meter, then put in a jumper to the street side? or should i just conncect the wire to the street side directly, which seems to eliminate the need for a jumper. i can see if all the pipes were copper and i attached it near the electric meter, then i would need a jumper. but in my case i dont think i need one. i just dont want the inspector to say anything.
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:21 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

meter jumper necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by drewhart View Post
what will the city inspector say. should i attach the ground wire to six inches of copper i have on the house side of the meter, then put in a jumper to the street side? or should i just conncect the wire to the street side directly, which seems to eliminate the need for a jumper. i can see if all the pipes were copper and i attached it near the electric meter, then i would need a jumper. but in my case i dont think i need one. i just dont want the inspector to say anything.
IMO, you dont need the jumper. but my opinion really means nothing.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 12:56 AM   #10
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

meter jumper necessary?


If you didn't bond both sides, isn't it conceivable that the inside pipes could become energized and pose a hazard?

250.104 (A) seems to say that all metal water piping and exposed structural steel "shall be bonded". What do you all think?

I think this is what Speedy was trying to say before. The point is to ground the pipes as much as it is to use the pipes as a ground.

Last edited by Gigs; 11-07-2008 at 12:58 AM.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 01:12 AM   #11
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

meter jumper necessary?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
His inside pipes are plastic cpvc on the house side of the meter.
Oh heh, I wondered what "cpv" was. Glad you could decipher it heh. Yeah then what I said doesn't apply at all.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 01:20 AM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

meter jumper necessary?


Gigs

I deleted last post as didn't like the way I worded things. But yeah I don't see a need for the jumper. But as Chris said or implied it's the inspectors opinion that counts.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does it matter how close your panel is to your meter? jamiedolan Electrical 10 10-18-2008 04:38 AM
Clamp Meter Findings jamiedolan Electrical 16 09-08-2008 08:13 PM
Is it normal to change the upper line at the meter when running new supply line? twilightcall Plumbing 3 08-08-2008 11:10 AM
Meter ratings Stubbie Electrical 3 04-02-2008 10:12 PM
200A Upgrade - Meter Socket Location Question bjones Electrical 2 11-12-2007 03:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.