Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2009, 09:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


Can I run a second new service connection from the meter to the new sub panel in the garage? If so I will be runnig wire 55 feet to 60amp panel which size wire will I need?


Last edited by usajet; 09-28-2009 at 09:07 PM. Reason: Forgot some stuff
usajet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:34 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


Since you say sub-panel in garage I'm assuming you are also keeping the main panel. The sub-panel feeder should come from the service panel and have overcurrent protection there (breaker). You cannot come off the meterbase.

007brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


I want to run a new panel to the garage without going into the house panel. I heared that you can go right from the meter.
usajet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:59 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by usajet View Post
I want to run a new panel to the garage without going into the house panel. I heared that you can go right from the meter.

The only way you can do that if you have two main breaker right below the meter socket.

it called combo unit which it will house one main breaker and the other main breaker for other building what size your exsting service you have now ?

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:06 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


a 200 amp service
usajet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:28 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


I should stated overhead or underground service however if overhead it will be little easy to deal with this.

you can have 200 amp feed thru breaker box outside which it will have 200 a main breaker there and couple of breakers you can add there and it will have take off lugs that will feed to your house panel but you will have to change the service entrance conductor from 3 conductor to 4 conductor due the main service point and your exsting panel will become subpanel.

here one of my common SqD products here the model number

QO1816M200FTRB { this is QO series }

Or

HOM816M200FTRB { this is Homeline series }

I know there are other breaker manufacter do make simauir verison of this so it will be pretty close to this one.

To change over this one you may end up have electrician come out and deal with this due the meter socket issue.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


The wires are underground going Thur conduit to the meter which is attached to the house which is about 3 to 4 feet off the ground.. If I have to run the wires to the panel since it's a 60 main breaker in the garage I have to run a 60 amp in the house right?
usajet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:45 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Meter to Garage sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by usajet View Post
The wires are underground going Thur conduit to the meter which is attached to the house which is about 3 to 4 feet off the ground.. If I have to run the wires to the panel since it's a 60 main breaker in the garage I have to run a 60 amp in the house right?

Ugh now it kinda my fault from start but we got the basic question covered now so we are kinda got the idea where we are now.

Normally yes you can run 60 amp breaker in the house panel and that will feed to subpanel in the garage that can have lug or main breaker in there depending on the number of breakers you will use in subpanel if more than 6 circuits then you will have to go with main breaker box some case main breaker box is cheaper than main lug verison for 16 or 20 space verison.

To use the correct conductors to the subpanel you will need to run in the conduit which it will be 1 inch size and run #6 THHN/THWN conductors you will need X amout of feet in black and red and white and of course green.

The other thing I want to give you a head up some main lug or main breaker box do not have seperated ground bussbar and you will have to get it they are only couple bucks and make sure you isolated the netural bussbar by not useing the bonding jumper or green bonding screw which they will provide ya in the breaker box.

The THHN/THWN conductors they are good for 60 amp without any issue however if you go with UF { underground feeder } route the #6 UF is restricted to 55 amp IIRC if the charts is correct.

But if you use the Alum conductors the bet is off it will have diffrent size compared to copper as I mention above.

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring from existing panel to new garage al99m Electrical 8 07-29-2009 08:42 PM
Grounding for new meter at detached garage steve37887 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 02:17 PM
Sub panel for Garage /mudroom white29 Electrical 21 07-07-2008 05:41 PM
large mystery plywood panel in garage - any thoughts on this?! joeyboy General DIY Discussions 15 12-02-2007 03:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.