Meter That Can Accept Bolt On Lugs Use Crimp Lugs Or Mechanical Lugs? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 10:33 PM   #1
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Ok was having a discussion about meter sockets and connections. Bolt lugs in a meter socket. Do they have to be crimp lugs or can they be mechanical lugs? I failed inspection when I tried using mechanical lugs. Does the NEC say anything about this?

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:04 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


I have never ever used crimp lugs in a meter can. Only mechanical. The lugs we do use for meters have a ridge on the backside so the lug wont try to turn, but otherwise they're just standard mechanical lugs.

Advertisement

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:24 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Have not used them many times but just an inconvenience since I don't have a crimper and now the electric supply that used to loan them out for free when you bought your supplies from them is only doing lighting.

Next time maybe I try them and fight it out with the inspector.

I was tempted to buy this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-12-TON-H...item33718b7298
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:02 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Ok was having a discussion about meter sockets and connections. Bolt lugs in a meter socket. Do they have to be crimp lugs or can they be mechanical lugs? I failed inspection when I tried using mechanical lugs. Does the NEC say anything about this?
Ok you failed inspection .... but I'm confused by what you used as a mechanical lug(s) that would cause the red tag. Why are you needing lugs in your meter can ?

Are you feeding two panels or disconnects from a meter socket that is not designed for that?

Are you splicing ?

Typically you do use mechanical lugs as Techy mentioned so that is why I'm asking.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
J. V. (02-27-2012)
Old 02-27-2012, 12:16 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


This was like 13 years ago and I just used a bolt on lug that you tighten up with a socket and wratchet like the ones you find in a panel.

Maybe it was the type of meter can I used it was actually a large underground feed model but I got it approved to go into the side of it and out the back to hopefully prevent the leaking and corrosion that happened on the one I replaced because of the failed gasket.

He said I could only use crimp lugs in the meter can so that's what I started using. I just had a discussion with someone about it and wanted to clear it up what is allowed because I could not find anything online.

I have only had to crimp wire a few times.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Stubbie is asking why you needed any kind of lug in a meter can. The lugs are part of the meter can construction. You strip the wire lay it in and tighten it down. No lug required. It is already there.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:50 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Stubbie is asking why you needed any kind of lug in a meter can. The lugs are part of the meter can construction. You strip the wire lay it in and tighten it down. No lug required. It is already there.

Not always some come with just studs where you mount your own lugs inside the meter can.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:57 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Not always some come with just studs where you mount your own lugs inside the meter can.
True but if you used the right ones ..... Are you saying the inspector was wanting crimp on lugs for a studded meter can ??

Can you link to a picture of what he wanted ? I'm just curious not arguing.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:08 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Just stated that all he would allow is a crimp connection on the lugs inside the can. I may be able to get a pic for you.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 06:28 PM   #10
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


The 320/400 Meters ( or bigger, i hate those 600A bolt ins), Come with studs, no lugs. Everything under 200a comes with lugs included.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:00 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Yeah thought I got a great deal on that socket until I found out I had to invest in the crimp lugs but it's a pretty solid unit even with the crimp lugs was a fair price.

Was going to snap a picture today before the power company turned my power back on after all the work I did but they got there before I did.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.

Last edited by rrolleston; 02-27-2012 at 07:04 PM.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:30 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


There is an area near me that requires (or at least used to) crimp lugs on the studs in a meter pan specific to their area. Mechanical lugs not allowed.
This is a POCO issue, not a code issue.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:49 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
There is an area near me that requires (or at least used to) crimp lugs on the studs in a meter pan specific to their area. Mechanical lugs not allowed.
This is a POCO issue, not a code issue.
Guess I am lucky he called out this issue. They really do make a tight connection wires crimped and those large studs with nuts torqued down tight make a really good connection add peace of mind. The lugs I get come packed with anti oxidant in them tap them on with a board and the hydraulic crimper makes it a quick job. The only part I had trouble with is the neutral could not get it twisted tight enough so I ended up going to a larger lug and was able to crimp it on. I think it was an SE cable with a full size neutral. The SE cable that I used to go to the service inside at a later date a small lug fit nice.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:17 PM   #14
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Guess I am lucky he called out this issue. They really do make a tight connection wires crimped and those large studs with nuts torqued down tight make a really good connection add peace of mind. The lugs I get come packed with anti oxidant in them tap them on with a board and the hydraulic crimper makes it a quick job. The only part I had trouble with is the neutral could not get it twisted tight enough so I ended up going to a larger lug and was able to crimp it on. I think it was an SE cable with a full size neutral. The SE cable that I used to go to the service inside at a later date a small lug fit nice.
Ok I get it now. For some reason I was thinking about some kind of lug that you crimped to the meter can. It just wasn't clear in my mind what you were refering to...I call them compression connectors.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:08 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Meter that can accept bolt on lugs use crimp lugs or mechanical lugs?


It was my first big home DIY project and I learned a lot doing it. I have helped some friends with their service installs since then and I never stop learning.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts