Mercury Lights - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2008, 04:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mercury lights


I replaced the dusk to dawn light on a garage. After taking down the old one and installing the new one, the light blinked once, which is what the directions said it would do. It didn't turn on at dark like it was suppose to. I tried to switch the wires to see if maybe I hooked it up wrong. Still doesn't work at night. The sensor on top has an arrow on it which I have pointed north. The brand name of the light is Regent.There is power going to the light. Is there a way to check it in the daytime? Any help is appreciated.

Advertisement

Cruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 06:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

mercury lights


Find the photo cell and cover it with black tape or tinfoil.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 07:15 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

mercury lights


Go here and see if any one of the mercury vapor lights is the one you have and then be sure that you did the photo cell and cover installation correctly.
http://www.regentlighting.com/
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 08:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

mercury lights


Thanks for the help. The existing wires inside the garage were the old knob and tube wires. Both had a black covering on them. I wasn't sure which one to connect the white wire from the light to. Thats why I switched them after they didn't work the first time. I installed a junction box inside the garage to connect all the wires but the ground wire from the light I just grounded to the box itself. Still not working. Thanks again.
Cruise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 10:11 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

mercury lights


Have you tried screwing the light bulb out a few turns and then back in till snug? In the daytime you should be able to cover the photo lens and force the light to come on. I really think you have an issue with the photo cell installation. What was the arrow to be used for? Isn't that to line up the photo lens dots to determine how sensitive you want the light to darkness?
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with christmas lights!!!!! reds_21 Electrical 11 11-28-2007 11:02 AM
Porch lights with timer or photocell? ciera Electrical 4 10-29-2007 08:35 AM
Formula for changing lights to recessed bulbs? Jemo Electrical 12 01-26-2007 06:02 PM
Halogen flood lights chicagonyc Electrical 5 07-15-2006 11:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts