Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2013, 07:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


i have metal boxes in my house from 1971 with 14-2 AC. i have added 14-2 romex to the switches and everything is grounded. can i use MC to add a feed to a new metal box that i had to install for a switch or should i just go buy AC? thanks

jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:12 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


MC cable has a green, insulated equipment grounding conductor within the jacket. Use the MC.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
MC cable has a green, insulated equipment grounding conductor within the jacket. Use the MC.
ok so ac and mc are pretty much the same except mc actually has a grounding wire in it instead of the bare wire that you wrap around or clamp to the armor?
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:25 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhack836 View Post
ok so ac and mc are pretty much the same except mc actually has a grounding wire in it instead of the bare wire that you wrap around or clamp to the armor?
Yes. The armor is the grounding means with AC. The internal conductor in MC is the grounding means.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Yes. The armor is the grounding means with AC. The internal conductor in MC is the grounding means.
why do they even make 2 different things if they are so close in similarity anyway?
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 12:24 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhack836 View Post
why do they even make 2 different things if they are so close in similarity anyway?
They do look simauir but the bottom line is properly grounded or bonded as some peoples will say that.

The AC cable is not too bad for me to use but you have to be carefull which type of fitting ( connector ) to the metal box this part you can NOT use plastique boxes without bonding jumper on it.

The MC cable is much easier to use and it can use little more variation of fittings without issue. You can use with plastique box (warning.,, please check with your local/state code related to this part some may say no. Only metal boxes with AC cables ) but majorty of my time I use metal boxes without issue.

And the AC cable you will have to use the antishorting bushing on it ( some of electricians will call them red devil or others name for it ) but with MC genrally it don't need antishorting bushing due it do have plastique overwrap in it. but got a habit of doing it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (01-31-2013)
Old 01-31-2013, 05:59 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


i probably only would use ac or mc with metal boxes because that seems like a better idea with metal on metal. ac or mc with plastic boxes doesnt make any sense to me in a good grounding stand point anyway
jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 11:17 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


Why not just use NM as you have for the switches?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 06:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

MC vs AC and romex quick question


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Why not just use NM as you have for the switches?
i could, i just the armor cable with the metal boxes instead of the nm in metal box

jhack836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Romex conecter question stevo1213 Electrical 5 11-25-2011 12:39 AM
romex conduit question milehigh Electrical 7 07-26-2010 07:55 PM
Quick Question on Powerstrip Install Ferguson Electrical 7 05-06-2010 06:16 PM
question about running romex in attic ceiling jayp Electrical 5 03-20-2009 01:06 PM
"Common Path" limits for Romex -- Code question burro Electrical 4 08-10-2008 03:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.