Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2010, 01:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seminole County, FL
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


The local HD and Lowes are both selling MC-Lite type armored cable significantly cheaper than Romex/NM-B. The MC specifically is 3 conductors of THHN/THWN white/black/green. For adding additional lighting/outlet circuits, as long as the correct boxes/clamps are used, is there any reason not to use the MC in place of Romex?

Xavier Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:25 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


not really. Almost the same rules apply. Have to use metal boxes, and proper fittings.

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:54 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier Thomas View Post
For adding additional lighting/outlet circuits, as long as the correct boxes/clamps are used, is there any reason not to use the MC in place of Romex?
IMO...Absolutely. Ease of use, labor and fitting/box price.

MC is filthy oily. Your hands WILL be black when you are done, unless you wear gloves the whole time. I use nitryl gloves for MC work.

You have to use all metal boxes. You can get them with built-in clamps, but I like single and duplex MC connectors better. Both add to the cost and increase labor.

Unless you are real good with a hack saw you need a Roto-split to cut MC. Yeah, a hack saw is easy, but not as accurate.

You cannot stack two MC cables on each other under a staple. I can get four 12/2 or 14/2 cables down a 2x4 stud, easily & legally!

I'm sure I'll think of more.


I also question that MC is really cheaper. They must have some weird clearance thing going on. MC costs substantially more than NM cable, so this HAS to be a temporary thing.
I just checked and 12/2MC cost me 45% more than 12/2NM.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


MC less money than NM? That could be the deal of the year for a contractor that needs some. How much is the MC, and what size roll?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:02 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


You gotta be kidding the MC is cheaper than NM-B 90% of the time it not true they are useally more expensive than NM-B is unless that store want to unloaded that stock which it don't move { store term for sell } at all. If that price stay low I am sure alot of EC's will flock and grab it whatever left on the shelf. I done that allready with one big box store with 400 W HPS bulbs just lick the shelf off when they gave me a heckva price break on it. Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 07:40 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post

You cannot stack two MC cables on each other under a staple. I can get four 12/2 or 14/2 cables down a 2x4 stud, easily & legally!
M.
You cannot even run 2 side by side on a 2X4 stud either as it causes at least one of them to be too close to the front edge of the stud. Must be in stackers.


now, before somebody wants to argue about that; I'm done arguing plus that is what the inspectors require here and if you measure it, the inspectors are correct.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 08:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


I'm aware you need to stay 1 1/4" away from the face of the stud when going thru the stud - a hole - or you need to put in a plate protector
I always put the plate in anyways

But not aware of a restriction on the stud itself ?

AH - next section says the same 1 1/4" must be maintained in the stud bay too
That's 2 1/2" total from each face, leaving 1" for 2 cables side by side ?

I just measure & one 12-2 is smaller then 1/2" so (2) side by side would fit
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:41 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


check this link for once company's mc cable diameters.

http://www.kaf-tech.com/pdf/MC-TUFF_120.pdf

if you notice, 12/2 solid or stranded measures at .495". That leaves you up to .005" allowance to wander. That is just a wee bit to tight to argue with an inspector IMO.

btw: 12/3 is .530" so it is physically impossible to fit 2 side by side and remain legal or a 12/2 and a 12/3 side by side.


Y'all can do whatever you want but if you get an anal inspector and that MC wanders beyond a line 1/2" from the centerline of the stud, the inspector is correct if he dings you on it.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:20 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


Speedy was talking about running 4 NMB runs down the side of the stud, not MC
I agree MC might be too close for 2 runs
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 01:44 PM   #10
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

MC-Lite vs NM


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Speedy was talking about running 4 NMB runs down the side of the stud, not MC
I agree MC might be too close for 2 runs
the thread was about MC and he had mentioned you cannot run 2 cables under a staple. I should have quoted only that part of his post as that was what I was adding to, not the mention of the NM.

sorry about the confusion.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot lite on Carrier Furnace goes out nmac HVAC 8 10-08-2012 06:32 AM
394GAW byrant heater will not lite ajsellin2 HVAC 0 10-19-2009 12:02 AM
Front door side lite plastic molding Franky5 General DIY Discussions 3 05-31-2009 07:01 AM
check engin lite jamesw6777 Automotive Repairs 2 08-14-2008 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.