Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2010, 01:28 PM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Share |
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


What is the max amount of 12-2 romex wires allowed through a single 1" J/B cable clamp?
I hope it's 2 at least... Po)

DM

EDIT: This thread contains much more helpful info as well as the answer to my question, be sure to read it all! Many thanks to all who contribute(d)!

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:11 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


It depends on the clamp.

Quote:
I hope it's 2 at least... Po)
We've got worse things to worry about. Don't tighten the clamp too tight and you're good to go. No, I did not just say that

Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:17 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


standard 1" clamp... 2 screws.... 3 wires will fit through....

2 wires ok?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 02:49 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


I'm really not sure what you mean by a clamp. Originally I thought you were talking about an integral clamp in a JB, but now it sounds like you are talking about a romex connector, altho 1" is not very common for residential.

Ultimately, it depends on the connector/clamp's listing.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:01 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


Plain ol' steel J/B with romex clamps... 1" hole in box.
Looks like this here..... Po)

DM
Attached Thumbnails
Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?-j-box1.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:21 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


DM, I hope that is not your work.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:33 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


Ok, those are 1/2" Romex connectors. The hole in the box measures 7/8" which is the actual size of a 1/2" knock out.

Again, the amount of cables allowed in a connector is decided by the manufacturer.

Is that the box in question? Are you looking to add another cable to it? If so, get rid of it and get a deep 4" square box which will give you many more KO's to use and be bigger enough for all those wires. Also, cut back the sheath so it's not going into the box. You want the individual conductors to be longer, it's easier to work with. And I'd like to see one single splice of the ground wires in that situation. From the looks of it there are three splices and a tail.

Last edited by Proby; 07-27-2010 at 03:37 PM.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 04:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


The cable clamps that I install are rated for (2) 12-2 cables
I was thinking the clamps already installed on some boxes
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 04:41 PM   #9
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


OK, I now know this J/B is undersized for the amount of 12-2 wires. (6 max...Thanks Petey!)
I'll get bigger and do it right once I figure it out.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:02 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


You can use a 4" sq box, 2-1/8" deep, with a round mud ring on it, since you are installing a fixture to this box.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:46 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


What is a 4" mud ring that accepts standard ceiling fixtures? Got a picture or a link? I can't see anything on google that looks right.

Thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 09:35 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


Are you installing a fixture on this box? If so, you can use the attached cover. If not, just use a blank cover.
Attached Images
 
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Proby For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-27-2010)
Old 07-28-2010, 12:21 AM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
Are you installing a fixture on this box? If so, you can use the attached cover. If not, just use a blank cover.


There is one nice gotcha you can not use the ceiling fans with the 4 inch sq mud ring for it unless you make a bracket or super long lag bolts to slam into the duex par quatre { 2X4 stud } then it will be legit but not the screw of the mudrings they are only 8-32 size.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 07:25 AM   #14
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


This box will just hold up a flushmount light fixture, but I have 2 more to do that WILL hold small ceiling fan/light combos.
What box is made specifically for ceiling fans? Any pics?

Thanks!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 08:16 AM   #15
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Maximum wires through J/B cable clamp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
This box will just hold up a flushmount light fixture, but I have 2 more to do that WILL hold small ceiling fan/light combos.
What box is made specifically for ceiling fans? Any pics?

Thanks!

DM
There's a bunch of boxes, just swing by Home Depot and you'll see many. Everything from a normal box like what you currently have (just a little beefier) to pancake boxes to plastic saddle boxes that hug the underside of the joist. Pick out something you like and make sure that it says "Fan Rated" on it and you're good to go.

Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Proby For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (07-28-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 11:00 AM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
can't get new light fixture to work carolcwilson Electrical 24 08-12-2008 12:52 PM
Two black wires with one white! Please help! ibs325 Electrical 15 11-18-2007 09:38 PM
Maximum wires in a junction Box Tcal Electrical 8 09-16-2007 06:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.