Max # Service Drops - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2014, 05:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 195
Default

Max # Service drops


If I run a bunch of 100 amp #2 SEU service wires from meters up to the drop, is there a maximum amount I can run ? 5, 10, 15, 20,40 etc... ? I can't seem to locate anything yet in the NEC book

Don't want to do a meterbank if that's what your thinking...

Advertisement

Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 05:55 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,633
Rewards Points: 1,060
Default

Max # Service drops


230.40 Each service drop or lateral shall supply only one set of service entrance conductors.

There are several exceptions, mostly pertaining to multiple meters and buildings.

If you're referring to parallel conductors, 310.4 states that they need to be 1/0 or larger.

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
Jump-start (06-12-2014)
Old 06-09-2014, 09:21 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

Max # Service drops


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
230.40 Each service drop or lateral shall supply only one set of service entrance conductors.

There are several exceptions, mostly pertaining to multiple meters and buildings.
And possibly who you know
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 07:23 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Max # Service drops


Not DIY.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
danpik (06-10-2014)
Old 06-10-2014, 04:36 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Max # Service drops


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Not DIY.

But Cletis is a pro
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 07:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 195
Default

Max # Service drops


Well, I was just thinking... This was a 16 unit apt building so I could just basically run 16- 100 amp services all independant but tied at drop. Basically, the same. Here is my cost

100 amp service with 15 ft #2 SEU (includes meter, hub, connector, straps, seu)

$ 55 per so $55 x 16 = $ 880 total

If I did a 16 gang metebank i'm sure it would be double to triple

Thoughts ??
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 07:21 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Max # Service drops


It sure will look pretty
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 01:49 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,710
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

Max # Service drops


How the hell will you tie 16 x #2 cables together !
One big ass wire nut ?

Buss bar and wire lugs ?

Where can I get a 1600A panel from ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 07:11 AM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Max # Service drops


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Well, I was just thinking... This was a 16 unit apt building so I could just basically run 16- 100 amp services all independant but tied at drop. Basically, the same. Here is my cost

100 amp service with 15 ft #2 SEU (includes meter, hub, connector, straps, seu)

$ 55 per so $55 x 16 = $ 880 total

If I did a 16 gang metebank i'm sure it would be double to triple

Thoughts ??
I've seen it done, it's an apartment building, so aesthetics only weigh so much IMO....

As a side note, the labor may offset the difference of just mounting ONE 16 gang meter bank vs, 16 meter sockets...

Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-11-2014 at 07:15 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 07:13 AM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,163
Rewards Points: 2,118
Default

Max # Service drops


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
How the hell will you tie 16 x #2 cables together !
One big ass wire nut ?

Buss bar and wire lugs ?

Where can I get a 1600A panel from ?
That's the Power Company's issue, i've seen multiple service drops just bugged to a piece of copper then bugged to the POCO's supply.

Not sure what you are talking about with a 1600A panel? Cletus wants (16) 100amp panels, the calculated load is going to way less than that.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 09:39 AM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

Max # Service drops


Don't forget the main disco ahead meter pack(more than six throws) or the 32 ground rods for your original idea.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 08:37 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Max # Service drops


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Don't forget the main disco ahead meter pack(more than six throws) or the 32 ground rods for your original idea.
Two rods...16 connections to each rod.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 09:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

Max # Service drops


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Two rods...16 connections to each rod.
to one ?

One jumper between the two.
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 10:35 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,403
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Max # Service drops


Cletis,sounds like good plan. Do it and let me know how the power provider likes it.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 02:30 AM   #15
Contractor in PA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Max # Service drops


With that many loads, you will definitely need a fire switch (main service disconnect). Besides not passing electrical inspection, the power utility would never energize the service or accept it.

There is also a necessity to calculate the connected load and allow for a de-rating factor.

First and foremost, I would call the electrical inspector that you intend to use and ask him what he will want installed. You probably will also need to file a S&M (service & meter) request with the power utility.

This is no small job! The property owner should understand that there are inspection and permit requirements and you must follow the code. Please don't be a penny wise and a dollar foolish. If the owner can not or will not pay to have the job done safely and correctly, walk away from the job. There is too much at stake here. (property and lives are depending on a safe and compliant installation).

Advertisement

michaelpwalton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving electric service entrance to detached garage WillK Electrical 7 10-05-2011 11:13 PM
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 09:31 AM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 02:04 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 06:42 PM
How can I determine service amperage? dawho1 Electrical 13 04-07-2008 11:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts