Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2011, 07:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Material to wire 220 circuit


Hi,
I have two spare breaker slots in main 200 amp panel and easy access to it. I plan to wire a circuit for a saw. 3 HP motor,single phase, 18 amps. The wire run is 25 feet. Live in central Ky. Need to know wire size and breaker size. Thanks for your thoughts and answers.

vhuffines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:09 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: KC Metro
Posts: 44
Default

Material to wire 220 circuit


General rule for motor conductor sizing is 125% of the full load current plus anything else like an inspection light. You'll probably want to run #10 and put it on a 2pole 25A or 30A breaker.

Sine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 08:10 AM   #3
Member
 
iminaquagmire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 370
Default

Material to wire 220 circuit


18A seems like a lot for a 3hp motor at 240v. That would be a pretty ineffient motor. Are you sure about the amperage? That would be about right for the motor if it was wired at 120v. But if it is right, wire size for this would be #10 on a 30A breaker. Your local codes may vary however especially in regards to the wiring methods allowed (i.e. conduit vs romex or AC/MC).
iminaquagmire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 06:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Material to wire 220 circuit


Thank you guys for your information. I think I will wire with#10 to 30amps.
Vernon
vhuffines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 07:31 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Material to wire 220 circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by iminaquagmire View Post
18A seems like a lot for a 3hp motor at 240v. That would be a pretty ineffient motor. Are you sure about the amperage? That would be about right for the motor if it was wired at 120v.
Your numbers are WAY off.
I'd guess it is a REAL 3HP motor, as opposed to something like a Craftsman "6hp" vacuum cleaner that only draws 15A @ 120v.
18A is pretty much dead on.

Check the tables at the end of Art. 430.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Burned wire coming from circuit breaker rdmirando Electrical 5 11-01-2010 05:32 PM
change wire size in a circuit? mtmisfit Electrical 2 10-17-2010 01:07 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.