Mast Through Roof - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2011, 07:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mast Through Roof


Hey guys,

I'm running 2" IMC through the overhang and up through the roof. Any ideas on making the hole? The problem I'm having is that it's about 1' or more through the overhang before I get to the roof, and I'm not really sure what I'm going to encounter after going through the that. I'm without a 2" hole bit.

How do you guys go about drilling the hole thorough bottom and then matching up on the roof?
Attached Thumbnails
Mast Through Roof-picture-002a.jpg  

Advertisement

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 07:36 PM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Mast Through Roof


Long pilot drill bit. Looking at the underneath plywood, can you see the nails heads where the 'ladder' studs are so you can miss them when your pipe goes through?

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mast Through Roof


Kyle,

No, I don't see any nail heads.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:13 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mast Through Roof


I'm thinking, because of a lack of proper tools, I'm going to have to make several holes with something like 1/2" spade bit, and then get a jigsaw in there. Then I'll have to go up to the roof, and just try to eyeball it, and hope to get semi-level.

I'll of course have a roof boot on top, so does the hole have to be exact anyway? I may need to move the mast a bit anyway to get it aligned, so maybe an imperfect hole is best, what do you think?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mast Through Roof


What are ladder studs? Any chance they're metal? I ask because while I was trying to use a 54' flex bit, I seemed to hear the ping of metal.

If this is the case, how would they (ladder studs) be running; horizontal or vertical?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 08:55 PM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Mast Through Roof


I see what you’re saying with the spade bit. No, it doesn’t have to be exact on the top, just stay within the boot, without getting too big. A little extra big on the shingle side will give you some play to get the pipe in. On the bottom side it’s nice to get a clean hole. You can caulk it afterwards for a nice look.

The ladder studs are the boards that are part of a soffit. Soffits at the eaves are usually made letting the rafter tails hang over the wall and then a fascia board is attached. Soffits on a gable end (like you’re working on in the photo) can be made by putting ‘ladder’ studs projecting out from the house with a fascia board on the outer edge. Usually 16” on center, but not always. Re-looking at the pic, there might not be any studs.

It looks like the black overhang was the original roof, and the tan board above it is a new roof added later. Looks like the siding on the right is an addition. It might be hollow in between the two.
Don’t know what ‘metal ping’ you heard. Old flashing or drip edge? You might see if you can get that black triangle board off and look inside. Even if you had to replace it.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:31 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Mast Through Roof


Looks like that house was on fire recently. You renovating a fire job there?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 09:31 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mast Through Roof


Thanks, Kyle. Most helpful, I'll see what I can do with that.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:38 AM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Mast Through Roof


Check with the local utility. THe IMC may not be strong enough. Here we use Rigid for the mast.

Advertisement

electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flat roof and insulation quandry paredown Roofing/Siding 2 08-21-2010 12:50 AM
EPDM - flat roof to sloped roof transition emtaboy Roofing/Siding 12 07-14-2010 01:12 AM
Tying new roof into old. Clutchcargo Roofing/Siding 15 11-07-2009 06:48 PM
The moving Ice Dams after using a roof rake ?? Canufixit Roofing/Siding 9 02-05-2009 08:33 PM
Please help with the design of this roof jaymay75 Building & Construction 1 05-06-2008 10:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts