Mapping Out For Re-wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2014, 11:09 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nw Indiana
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 236
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Im remodeling my home and I havent quite got as far as re-wiring the upper level yet but I did make a list of what will need to be done.. Just wanted to get input on what everyone thinks should be grouped together and what not... Any info would be appreciated...

Bedrooms 1/2 - 2 ceiling fans w/lights and roughly 10-12 outlets

Bathroom - 1 gfi outlet, 1 light above the sink, and 1 exhaust fan/light in ceiling

Hallway light outside the bathroom and 1 outlet down farther towards the family room

Light above staircase inside front door

Outside light above front door

Family room - 4-5 outlets and I havent installed any lights in the ceiling but would like to put in like 4 potlights

Dining room isn't very big so its 1-2 outlets and a ceiling fan/light

Kitchen - 1 outlet for fridge, 1 gfi for toaster which is on one side of the sink,1 outlet in cabinet for microwave, one outlet on other side of the sink and also 1 outlet behind the stove... There is track lighting installed right now but that's going to get taken down for 4 potlights more than likely....

Advertisement

timothy300858 is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 11:19 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,747
Rewards Points: 610
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


http://www.ask-the-electrician.com/e...e-outlets.html
I'd keep the lighting and outlets on different circuits.
100% sure your local codes do not call for AFCI breakers, hardwired smoke detectors or conduit?
Stairwells need a three way switch at top and bottom of the stairs.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now  
Old 03-17-2014, 11:24 AM   #3
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post

Bedrooms 1/2 - 2 ceiling fans w/lights and roughly 10-12 outlets
1 or 2 circs.up to you (got room ac window units) 15 0r 20 amp


Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post


Bathroom - 1 gfi outlet, 1 light above the sink, and 1 exhaust fan/light in ceiling

1 circ 20 amp (or do recept on 20 amp..... and take from a 15 amp for lighting/fan)


Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post


Hallway light outside the bathroom and 1 outlet down farther towards the family room

Light above staircase inside front door

Outside light above front door
could put on with the 1 or 2 beds 15 Or 20 amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post


Family room - 4-5 outlets and I havent installed any lights in the ceiling but would like to put in like 4 potlights

Dining room a ceiling fan/light
lighting and recpts in living room 1 , could also do your oustide lighting. 15 0r 20 amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post
Dining room isn't very big so its 1-2 outlets

Kitchen - 1 outlet for fridge, 1 gfi for toaster which is on one side of the sink,1 outlet in cabinet for microwave, one outlet on other side of the sink and also 1 outlet behind the stove...
4 or 5 circs. (2 appliance, micro,frige,. Dining recpts. can go on appliance if you want) 12's 0n 20 amp, don't forget dw

(exception... fridge can be on a 15... also dw can)

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post

There is track lighting installed right now but that's going to get taken down for 4 potlights more than likely....
not allowed on kitchen recepts..
new circ or add to living room.. 15 0r 20amp




suggestions.....

12 sux to work with.. (more expensive, box conductor fill, finger jarring)

12's on 20 amp..
all kitchen appliance, dining, bath, and laundry receptacles.



14's on 15 amp..

all lighting (sept bath if you bring a 20 to bath and do recpt,light,fan)
living rm,bed,hall,outside receptacles...

njoy

Last edited by UnclePhil; 03-17-2014 at 11:52 AM.
UnclePhil is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 11:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,797
Rewards Points: 1,474
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Read the link that Joe posted.

You don't have enough receptacles in the kitchen ( unless you are real short of counter space) or the dining room. I would also question the family room.

You mentioned an outside light at the front door. What about other exterior doors ?
Oso954 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
UnclePhil (03-17-2014)
Old 03-17-2014, 11:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nw Indiana
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 236
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


I plan on reading the link as soon as I get other things done Im working on. I have a total of 5 outlets in the kitchen with one being a GFI and one being in the cabinet for the microwave. And its an open floor plan so it all flows together. There is only one outlet technically in the dining room that isnt very big. If I knew how to post pics of the rooms, I would. I know that would make things easier. There is a light outside the slider door on the deck, a light above the front door outside. And there is also a light above the back door of the garage and two in the front of the garage that are wired in from the garage that arent in question.
timothy300858 is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 12:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Best I remember , you are required to have at least 1 outside receptacle and it requires GFCI protection ?

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 12:25 PM   #7
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by WyrTwister View Post
Best I remember , you are required to have at least 1 outside receptacle and it requires GFCI protection ?

God bless
Wyr
At one time..

now two.. front and back.

will check, but that's what memory serves
UnclePhil is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 12:31 PM   #8
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


yep......two.......

Also realize, this is a reno... he doesn't have to install as if new.

Would be nice and suggested to but...
UnclePhil is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 12:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nw Indiana
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 236
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Well I am re-siding and the whole bit so adding outlets outside wouldnt be a big issue I dont think. Im assuming there is somewhere I can find out as to where they should go... Possibly one in the deck area and one on the front of the house??? Im not so sure on that tho...
timothy300858 is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 01:32 PM   #10
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post
Im assuming there is somewhere I can find out as to where they should go... Possibly one in the deck area and one on the front of the house??? Im not so sure on that tho...
;- ) one in the front, one in the back.... anywhere you want..

you could have more than that too..
UnclePhil is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to UnclePhil For This Useful Post:
timothy300858 (03-17-2014)
Old 03-17-2014, 03:54 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nw Indiana
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 236
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Just wanted to let anyone know I added pics to my profile if you wanted to look at what I have going on.
timothy300858 is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 04:14 PM   #12
I am
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Bora Bora
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


1) if you're going to do the flip thing......or even stay and sell down the road.
realtors do compare how the house was and the way it is now.
meaning they do get in touch with the town and what was there and what is
now there..to see if there where permits and inspections and to see if
everything was done right on the work.
2) it may be tough over the internet to know who you are, but documenting the
things you do sometimes may come back and bite you in the ars.

Nice what your doing, but pretty sure people here have seen this type of thing before. Don't overextend yourself is all I'm saying.

Not for you to cop an attitude... just letting you know...
UnclePhil is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 04:36 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nw Indiana
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 236
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Yeah I understand what you are saying... I guess I will cross that path if it ever comes to it.... And Im not saying Im doing anything special.. Just adding pictures because someone asked for them before.. No worries
timothy300858 is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 05:36 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by timothy300858 View Post
Yeah I understand what you are saying... I guess I will cross that path if it ever comes to it.... And Im not saying Im doing anything special.. Just adding pictures because someone asked for them before.. No worries
Where's the pics; I don't see them anywhere, including in your profile?
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline  
Old 03-17-2014, 07:29 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nw Indiana
Posts: 212
Rewards Points: 236
Default

Mapping out for re-wire


Sorry man... I decided to take em all down...

Advertisement

timothy300858 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THWN wire; Gray pvc Conduit; and GFCI receptacles Buzzy Electrical 29 09-26-2012 03:41 AM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 09:12 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 02:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts